Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
We loved this recipe! The scones are moister than most scones, and the maple adds a nice touch. My husband and father-in-law don't like fruits in bread, so I didn't add those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. I did'nt have any dried fruit, so I just made them without. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2000
Oh, boy are these great. I used sweetened dries carnberies in place of the cherries, and what a great flavor. I have given this recepie to everyone who has tried it. Don't miss this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
These scones melt in your mouth. I used fresh maple syrup and dried cranberries. The recipe is large enough that you can freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I am not sure about the kids because they are in that picky stage, but I think these turned out great. I substituted about 1 cup of chopped walnuts in place of the dried cherries. These were terrific. I am thinking of topping them with a maple glaze drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This is by far the best scone recipe I have found. Substitute raisins soaked in orange juice for the cherries. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you want a good recipe look farther. If you want an EXCELLANT scone stop right here. I used dried cranberries in place of the cherries. and viola! Get ready to enjoy the applause!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were really good, however, I thought that baking them at 425 deg. seemed high compared to a lot of other scone recipes I've seen, so (fortunately) I decided to bake them at 375 deg. Even though I only baked them for 15 minutes, they were still overly brown on the bottom, and a few actually burned on the bottom. My oven temperature is usually right on with recipes' baking temp. & time, so I was surprised that these were supposed to bake at 50 deg. higher than I baked them at, yet for the same time as I baked mine. Next time, I'll decrease the baking time further (perhaps 12 or 13 minutes at 375). I used dried cranberries. I was puzzled by the reference to "dried pears" in Step 4 of the recipe since they weren't mentioned as possible ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Scones turned out perfect with a wonderful maple flavor. I used crasins in place of the dried cherries. This is definitely a "keeper" that I will bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very good scone recipe! They came out very moist, not dry. Very tasty! I would highly recommend to all scone lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States