Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This was an easy recipe to follow and the results were excellent. I used cherry-flavored dried cranberries and they were yummy. The went over so well that I had to make another batch the next day. Bakery Quality with an authentic scone texture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I thought this recipe was sensational. I didn't use the dried cherries, and I substituted rum extract for the maple. A combination of regular butter and margarine worked nicely for substitution of the unsalted butter. Skipped topping and served with Devon Cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Good flavor but not very tender as scones go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was a very sticky and unmanagable dough even after adding extra flour to it, I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very good scone recipe! They came out very moist, not dry. Very tasty! I would highly recommend to all scone lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. I did'nt have any dried fruit, so I just made them without. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Scones turned out perfect with a wonderful maple flavor. I used crasins in place of the dried cherries. This is definitely a "keeper" that I will bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
I added dried apricots and apples instead. To me, these were just okay. I prefer Starbucks scones! This dough was really, really sticky and I thought they would have a more buttery taste. I didn't have maple flavoring, so I added extra vanilla. Maybe that had something to do with it. I decided to chill the dough after putting it together and I was able to handle it better, otherwise it stuck to my hands and was impossible to knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were really good, however, I thought that baking them at 425 deg. seemed high compared to a lot of other scone recipes I've seen, so (fortunately) I decided to bake them at 375 deg. Even though I only baked them for 15 minutes, they were still overly brown on the bottom, and a few actually burned on the bottom. My oven temperature is usually right on with recipes' baking temp. & time, so I was surprised that these were supposed to bake at 50 deg. higher than I baked them at, yet for the same time as I baked mine. Next time, I'll decrease the baking time further (perhaps 12 or 13 minutes at 375). I used dried cranberries. I was puzzled by the reference to "dried pears" in Step 4 of the recipe since they weren't mentioned as possible ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you want a good recipe look farther. If you want an EXCELLANT scone stop right here. I used dried cranberries in place of the cherries. and viola! Get ready to enjoy the applause!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States