Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I was hoping for more flavour in this scone.The dough was also very sticky to work with. I will go back to Grandma Johnson's Scone recipe, and never stray again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Wonderful taste. Very easy dough to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
These are simply perfect. I had to add just a bit more buttermilk to make the dough workable (no more than a tablespoon or so), and I didn't have maple flavoring, so I left it out. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wonderful and so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Adding pecans or walnuts would make this similar to the old-style Starbuck's maple-oat scone that I loved so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very good! My first scone-making experience and they turned out softer and more tender than ones I've bought from stores. They were crunchy on top because of the sugar(I used the unprocessed natural sugar, so it was a lot more coarse, giving it a very pretty look!). I replaced one cup of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour. My food processor never got the mixture to look coarse or grainy, but more like very fine sand. I love the subtle maple flavor. The only thing I didn't love was the dried cherries...they tasted sort of like raisins after baking. I tasted them before I put them in the batter, and they were good, so I would probably leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I loved this recipe! I did not add the fruit. I used a large scoop and did not roll out the dough. I reduced the heat to 375 degrees F, because I did not roll them out, and cooked for 20 min. I did not add anything to the top. I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt. Wonderful texture. Will make many more times. Would also be great with a maple glaze over the top. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This was great! I didn't add the cherries, and it still turned out well. The scones have a crunchy outside with a faint maple flavor. I used margarine instead of butter and added a little more maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
These turned out light and delicious. The maple flavoring is subtle. When kneading and forming them, they were a sticky mess to handle. I just added more flour and persevered in getting them on the parchment paper. They baked up beautifully. To enjoy them the next day, I just zap them in the microwave for a few seconds to warm them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I work in a commercial kitchen and used this recipe (I scooped it instead of rolling it out - very easy!) It was very nice. The maple flavoring is good and I used craisins instead of cherries. It would also be nice w/ apples...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States