Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sandy G.
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I love scones and since I had dried cherries on hand I gave this recipe a try. Makes a good scone, don't know how a previous user said you can't taste the cherries. I didn't have real maple syrup or maple extract so I just used three tablespoons of my "maple flavored" syrup. Still turned out good, but with just a hint of maple. Not as dense as your usual scone, but good just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
These are wonderful! Not too sweet, just right in consistency and taste! Try them out, you'll be pleasantly surprised! Love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great scones. I have baked them for many special occasions, and people can't help but eat more than one. I did use chocolate chips rather than berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Love love love this recipe. It is fantastic. We always have to have it on hand now. I bake them weekly! I usually make them per recipe, but I recently made them with blueberries. I eliminated the maple extract andI substitued karo light corn syrup for the maple. They turned out great. This really is a can't miss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Fantastic! Love these scones. Delicious, subtle maple flavour. Easy to make. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good flavor, but the dough was sticky and unworkable. I ended up just smashing a glob of it between parchment paper into a circle and baking it that way. I doubt I'll make this again, but I've got a couple new flavoring ideas to try with my favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Couldn't taste the cherries and probably wont bother with them next time, but otherwise they were awesome! My Dad loves Maple so I made them for his birthday, he didn't even know what a scone was! He was very impressed, he loved them. Thanx for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSS333

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
WOW!!! These are so yummy. I must say it's a very good recipe. Though I did a couple of things. First, my family doesn't care for currents so I omitted them. Secondly, I only formed into one dough into a large cirlce rather then what was called for. I cut it into 8 pieces. Finally, I brushed the tops with the remaining bit of buttermilk that I had and put regualar granulated sugar on the top. When they were done I made a glaze from 1c. Powedered Sugar, 2T. Real Maple Syrup and A little vanilla and maple extracts. Drizzled this on the cooled scones and it was amazing. They tasted just like the ones that the restaurant I used to work at served. I really must say these are great. I had used another and this recipe I was very happy with. The whole family ate them up. Thank you very much for haring this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I used dried blueberries instead of cherries and these turned out fabulous. Everyone kept asking me where I bought them. I had never made scones before, so I was a little nervous, but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I was hoping for more flavour in this scone.The dough was also very sticky to work with. I will go back to Grandma Johnson's Scone recipe, and never stray again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States