Restaurant-Quality Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved this! So good. Great flavors and definitely a hit with my husband and son. I don't think I'll add the cornstarch next time though. Wasn't needed at all. I did mix in the bacon and about a cup of cheese instead of serving it on top of each bowl. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious recipe. Very good recipe as a base to change it to what you have around the kitchen (used flour instead of corn starch, used 2-1 cup pouches of potato flakes, used whole milk, added Queso Velveeta cheese to mine to melt, stirred the bacon into it, added a can of corn, and cooked it with bay leaves for flavor). I'm sure it would have been great as is also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a good recipe and gives the baked potato feel. My children loved it. Changes: no cornstarch and half the potato flakes and 3 potatoes next time I make it. It came out really thick and I ended up adding 2 cups of half-half to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Waller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is it! Baked Potato Soup perfection. It was a little too thick for me, so I did add some extra water and half and half. Next time, I will just use less cornstarch. You have got to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is a really good and easy soup, but as written, the consistency is way too thick. I even cut the corn starch in half and it was still too thick. I would suggest starting with 1/8 c. cornstarch and 1/2 c. of potato flakes. You can add more flakes slowly as the mixture thickens until you get to a consistency you like. I would have much preferred a more "cream soup-y" consistency and what I got was very "mashed potato-y". I was concerned about the 1/2 tsp. basil, but it ended up being a very mellow flavor and not overpowering. I think nest time I might add just a tiny bit of bacon grease with the butter when sautéing the onions to give it a little more bacon flavor. Otherwise, really great. I really like doing the baked potatoes in advance and cutting the chunks up in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was wonderful! I used 3 potatoes, sour cream and onion mashed potato flakes and only half the cornstarch. I also added corn just because we love it in potato soup. Will keep in my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyguenivere

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emilypronto
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not care for the boxed potatoes. It has too much thyme, which was very overpowering until I added the bacon to the simmering process along with a lot of salt and pepper. The end result was more of a mashed potato consistency than soup. Thankfully the bread bowl I put it in saved the soup, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
The flavor of the instant potatoes overpowered the true flavor of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was sooooo good! I made it for some guests on a cold wintry night and they raved on and on about how good it was! I would've given it 5 stars, but I made some alterations based on what others had said about the recipe. I baked four large potatoes in the microwave instead of the oven, diced 3 (so added one extra) and made one into a small batch of "mashed potatoes," which I then substituted for the potato flakes.It was obviously hard to mix in evenly, but after a few minutes it worked well. I also saved the bacon grease and used it to start my roux. I put bacon in the soup and also saved some for a topping. I almost put cheese in the soup as well, but I decided to wait and just put it on top, which worked out well. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmheff

Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States