Renaissance Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
"I created this recipe for a vegetarian friend". If anyone attempts to make this recipe for a serious Vegetarian PLEASE make sure that the Parm, Cheddar & the Cream Cheese you use has no animal rennet in it. Look for Kosher to be 100% certain. Most cheese doesn't disclose this info therefore it IS more than likely made w/ animal rennet. Unfortunately this is a common mistake made by a lot of people that assume Vegetarians eat Cheese so be careful. You could make someone seriously ill w/ out even knowing. You can find a good quality cheese that uses microbial or vegetable rennet instead. The recipe itself isn't bad, minus the animal rennet of course if you are a Vegetarian. Contrarily the recipe is misleading if you take the OP's advice in regard to it being "veggie friendly". I say this w/ all due respect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I've made these twice in the last few weeks and everyone keeps asking me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Made this last nite and was delicious. As others mentioned a lot extra filling but my wife asked me to make them again tonite. Saute was done in butter, garlic and vidalia onions. Had I mixed this into the cheese filling, I think would have been too much. You do get some of the garlic/onion/butter flavor from the saute. My wife is not a fan of hot sauce and the consistency can use some help. Instead of the port wine, I used about the same amount of soy sauce. Next time I may add a little breadcrumbs to help 'hold together' and a maybe little pineapple for extra sweetness. So many more possibilities I am looking forward to trying with this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
It was super easy to make except as other mentioned about the oil, I had trouble with that step also. The oil dried out very quickly, it was also the last of my olive oil so I subbed a tbsp of butter, it worked wonderfully. Also I had to double my mushrooms since I had so much extra filling. Other than that great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made these for a party and everyone loved them. The wine gives them a good flavor. Sometimes I'll add some breadcrumbs to give the filling a little more bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Added bread crumbs to the top, just for looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
These were delicious, but they were very high-calorie for just an appetizer. To make them lower-cal, I used light whipped cream cheese (and less than what the recipe called for) and skipped on the cheddar cheese. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It was good. Needed a bit more flavor. Parmesan cheese isn't vegetarian, so omitted completely. Would make again with more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
yummers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Delicious! Brought these to a Christmas party and they flew off the plate! I didn't even get to try one! Had to make them again at home just so I could try one! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States