Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Oh my this is good! Hubby can't stand any sort of meatloaf. Until now! He LOVED this which says quite a lot. I doubled it and we still didn't have a lot leftover for sandwiches. He piled his plate high! I made mashed potatoes and green peas to go with it. Tip for cutting the grease: put several pieces of sandwich bread underneath the meatloaf. It will soak up a lot of the grease, then just throw the nasty greasy bread away when the loaf is done! Thank you Rempels for sharing your recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I am on a perpetual search for a good meatloaf recipe, have tried many, and my hubby and I really like this one. It is good for making meatloaf burgers, too! Just add about 1/4 more cracker crumbs to make the burgers firmer. Plus, a good glaze for the meatloaf is 3T ketchup, 1T honey and 1/2t worchestershire. Pour it on before baking and you've got yourself one GOOD meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
576 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I have made this recipe twice now and it is really a taste treat. This last time, I added 1/2 cup ketchup, a little finely chopped green pepper, and a few extra crackers. I saved a little of the ketchup mixture and topped the meatloaf with it during the last 1/2 hour of baking. I served it to company and was asked for a copy of the recipe so they could make it too. Thanks for the great recipe Connie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Wonderful meatloaf! To avoid the saltiness that many reviewers have noted, try using 2.5 tbsp of dried minced onions in place of the dry onion soup mix. I also subbed the ketchup for Heinz's chili glaze to give the meatloaf a little kick, and used a glaze noted in "Connie's Jan 2009" review. Very tasty!!!! Reviewers Please Note: If you can find cheese crackers such as Carr's cheese melts (gourmet crackers), they truly make this recipe go from wonderful to over the top! Thanks Connie for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Umm ummm good!! I haven't made meatloaf in YEARS . . . weary of pitching meatloafs in the garbage time after time. My hubby, who is not a big meat loaf fan REALLY enjoyed this one. I made a couple changes. I used 1 pound ground beef and 1 pound ground pork, 1 cup crushed cracker, part chedder and part pepper jack cheese, a little minced red pepper, filled the 1/4 measuring cup halfway with ketchup and the rest with BBQ sauce. I also used the glaze (ketchup, honey, worchestershire) suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Simple and excellent recipe. My husband and son love it. My mother-in-law even asked for the recipe! Used lean ground beef & followed the recipe. I'm tired of people changing 10 things in the recipe & then giving a review. Try as-is first, then modify if need be and leave an honest review of the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I scaled this recipe to 72 servings for our Wed. night church dinner. Everyone loved it, even the children and teenagers! After everyone was fed, we had 3 servings left! People were coming into the kitchen while it was still in the oven and expressed how wonderful it smelled. Even those who did not care for meatloaf could not resist this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
My Family loved it!! I used A1 for my steaksauce and added cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
My husband said that this tasted more like a huge grilled hamburger than a meatloaf -- a huge compliment from a guy who hates meatloaf! I added Romano cheese and liquid smoke for fun, but the recipe itself is definitely a keeper! We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I like meatloaf and this is very good, destined to be one of my favorites. I added red pepper and a couple of tablespoons of steak sauce to the top of the meatloaf while it baked. I also substituted cheese flavored crackers because that's what I had. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States