Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Just tried this meatloaf last night. The flavor was good, but because I used ground turkey and lamb instead of beef I think it changed the flavor a bit. My husband liked it though, as did I.... might try a bit more crackers next time as it was quite moist when I put it in the pans... I doubled the recipe too because I like to be able to use it for leftovers during the week... and we cooked it a bit longer because it was so moist... came out good... we'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is just about fantastic. Instead of ground beef, I used lean ground turkey so there was NO GREASE at all. For the crackers, I used the Ritz Baked lower fat/calories. I think the reason this was so good is due to some other suggestions like the glaze (honey, ketchup, etc) which I used as a layer between and on top. Also, I added a layer of Feta cheese to the center. My oven may not be exact but 350 is a little low. It wound up in the oven about 1.5 to 2 hours. Regardless, the flavor is awesome and I highly suggest using ground turkey or chicken instead of beef. No grease/fat and holds all the flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My "old faithful" recipe is much loved in my family, so imagine my surprise when, with one bite, my bride pronounced this "the best meatloaf ever"! After I tried it myself, I had to agree! It contains several of my favorite ingredients, and the flavors come together perfectly in this recipe. Since it wasn't specified, I used Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce for the steak sauce (my people are from the Gulf Coast!), and 80/20 ground chuck. My old recipe is going into the back of the file tonight! Can't wait for the grandkids to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I thought this was really a good meatloaf recipe-I knew it was too salty after reading a few reviews so I just used 1/2 package of the onion soup mix. Not having steak sauce, I substituted 1 1/2 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and it was fine. Thank you-no leftovers in the fridge a day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arprodeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this today and my husband (who also is not a meatloaf lover) raved about it. I also used the catsup/honey/worchestershire sauce glaze and thought it was awesome. I used lean ground beef and greasiness was not an issue. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This is quite simply the best meatloaf EVER. It's always a hit. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I think the "secret" ingredient in this is the steak sauce...which I don't llike outside of this recipe. I make as recipe states most often...once in a while I will steam a red pepper, puree in with an immersion blender, and substitute that for the ketchup...kids don't know...its yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My family loved this recipe. Its also great the next day for sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKLISA
Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I really HATE meatloaf! But this, I LOVE! You'll probably need to make a topping and when the meatloaf is almost done, I pour off all the grease and add my topping mix. But this meatloaf is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe is written and it was superb. I did not find it too salty at all. I will say you should be careful about the French Onion soup mix as the recipe calls for 1 ounce and my package was 1.25 ounces. I just didn't put it all in. Maybe all of it would have made it too salty. I did not put a glaze on the top - just some ketchup like i do for all my meatloaves. It was great. This is definitely my go to meatloaf recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,018) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States