Rempel Family Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Wonderful meatloaf!! I followed the directions exactly and had a perfectly moist and tasty meatloaf on hand. I will note that I had to cook it for about an hour and 45 minutes in order for the internal temp to reach 165. Also, I put 2 slices of bread on the bottom of the pan to soak up the grease, and made a glaze of ketchup, brown sugar, and mustard to coat the top. I put half of the glaze on when it went into the oven and the rest halfway through. Overall, a VERY good meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmaguire81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snyder, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Family loved it! My husband doesn't eat beef or pork, so we made it with ground turkey. Served it with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. Perfect comfort winter food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Not being a fan of meatloaf, I rarely make the same meatloaf recipe twice. This one, however, will very definitely end my search for a good tasting meatloaf. My husband thought this was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this...and I don't get the amazing reviews. I could taste the onion soup mix way too much...it was almost overwhelming. It also smelled very onion-y..but not in a good way. I didn't care for the texture or taste that the crackers gave it. All in all, this is not something I'd ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was a perfect meatloaf. Not too dry, not over-seasoned. The whole family loved it and it made great leftovers. I only had 1 pound of lean ground beef so I had to substitute lamb for the rest of the meat but it still had a great flavor. I will use less cheese next time, I think. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious!! I made it exactly as written but cooked it as a loaf in the centre of a 11x17 to allow room for the grease to drain away...came out PERFECT! My new go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Just tried this meatloaf last night. The flavor was good, but because I used ground turkey and lamb instead of beef I think it changed the flavor a bit. My husband liked it though, as did I.... might try a bit more crackers next time as it was quite moist when I put it in the pans... I doubled the recipe too because I like to be able to use it for leftovers during the week... and we cooked it a bit longer because it was so moist... came out good... we'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is just about fantastic. Instead of ground beef, I used lean ground turkey so there was NO GREASE at all. For the crackers, I used the Ritz Baked lower fat/calories. I think the reason this was so good is due to some other suggestions like the glaze (honey, ketchup, etc) which I used as a layer between and on top. Also, I added a layer of Feta cheese to the center. My oven may not be exact but 350 is a little low. It wound up in the oven about 1.5 to 2 hours. Regardless, the flavor is awesome and I highly suggest using ground turkey or chicken instead of beef. No grease/fat and holds all the flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My "old faithful" recipe is much loved in my family, so imagine my surprise when, with one bite, my bride pronounced this "the best meatloaf ever"! After I tried it myself, I had to agree! It contains several of my favorite ingredients, and the flavors come together perfectly in this recipe. Since it wasn't specified, I used Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce for the steak sauce (my people are from the Gulf Coast!), and 80/20 ground chuck. My old recipe is going into the back of the file tonight! Can't wait for the grandkids to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I thought this was really a good meatloaf recipe-I knew it was too salty after reading a few reviews so I just used 1/2 package of the onion soup mix. Not having steak sauce, I substituted 1 1/2 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and it was fine. Thank you-no leftovers in the fridge a day later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arprodeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States