Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
What a wonderful blend of flavors! This recipe has a lot of flavors going on, so it can easily be tinkered with to suit individual tastes. For instance, hubby can't deal with "hot and spicy" so unfortunately I had to leave the hot sauce out. No matter--since I used brown mustard rather than Creole, I added a little Cajun seasoning, and that really gave this a boost of flavor to make up for not using the hot sauce. A teaspoon of salt seemed an awful lot to me so I used 1/2 tsp. and it was plenty salty enough. Unlike some others, I did use both the olives as well as the capers, the combination of which was a real flavor sensation! This was just perfect to serve with "Perfect Crab Cakes with Green Onions," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
My husband just came back from Louisiana and he said this is very close to the sauce he had there. Very good as a sauce and as a spread. Did add brown sugar as suggested by others for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savanna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME! Made it the night before to let all the ingredients' flavors meld. It wasn't hard to put together at all. Served it on grilled salmon and bay scallops. My husband could not stop raving about the remoulade. This will be made over and over and over, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Great sauce. i used it on fried green tomatoes. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have had several versions of Remoulade sauce and this is definately the best. You can complain that alot of work goes into making it, but this sauce requires all fresh ingredients in order to truly appreciate how spectacular it is. This is great with hard boiled eggs, shrimp, chicken, you name it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Made this to go on fried green tomatoes and it was absolutely delicious. I think it would be excellent on crabcakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
The Chili sauce and chili powder make the recipe bitter. If you remove it you will not need to use sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Made this to go with crab cakes and it was delicious, will definitely be keeping this recipe. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinbin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalkaska, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was excellent. Didn't have the chili sauce, so substituted the Sririchi (however you spell it) that someone else used (gave it a nice, subtle heat at the end), and followed someone else's advice about just putting it all in the food processor together. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
delish!!!! Used with salmon cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States