Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
In a word - "awesome"! Yes, for the long list of ingredients it looks like a lot of work for not a lot of pay off, but trust me you'll be glad you tried this especially if you're having really good crab cakes! Just to be on the safe side trying this for the first time I cut the recipe in half. I didn't have Creole mustard, so I used dijon and added 1/4 tsp. of "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site. I always have it on hand in a tiny tupperware container along wtih my other spices. I used some Frank's red hot for the hot sauce and also opted to add the capers which was a really good decision. I did however cut the amount of salt in half as the salt from the olives and capers really makes up for it. I let it set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors come together and boy was it ever good! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent just the way it the recipe is. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I eyeballed all the spices in this recipe, so I really didn't follow it strictly (also I didn't have celery or mayo and substituted EVOO and a bit of sour cream, instead). That said, the blend of ingredients made a superb remoulade for my salmon cakes that truly made the dish after tweaking the ratios. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this delicious sauce last week to serve with my BIL fantastic crabcakes - a match made in heaven! I deviated by bumping up the garlic to four cloves, personal preference only. I'd like to try this with deli roast beef or use in a tuna salad. Thanks so much for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this as a sauce to serve with shrimp cocktail, along with a more traditional sauce, for Thanksgiving and it went over quite well – even got a request for the recipe!! I made this as directed, although I did tweak it here and there. I used a little less lemon juice and a little more chili sauce (just to use up the rest in the bottle). I didn’t see any need for the olive oil and left that out, and I didn’t use the capers. I’m planning on using the leftovers on some tilapia this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Worked out perfectly for me! I had it with crab cakes made with an Old Bay crab cake seasoning packet. I'm the slowest cook in the world, so I cut down the ingredients to make it more manageable for me. I omitted the parsley (though I used some dry parsley), olives, celery and capers. I also didn't have nor could I find Creole mustard, so I used regular French's mustard and some Creole seasoning. I used a little Sriracha sauce instead of the Louisiana-style hot sauce. Even with hacking up the recipe this much, it still turned out great! And I'm throwing out my bottle of store-bought remoulade sauce that tastes mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Wonderful sauce. I made it exactly as written, my husband and I ate it over the "best ever crab cakes". Can't wait to try over other seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This is delicious!! Served it with Best Ever Crab Cakes from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Good stuff! I served with Lori's Famous Crab Cakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made this to go with the Low Country Boil we were doing. We used it on our red beans & rice, the shrimp, the potatoes, the sausage...YUM! Everyone was raving about this sauce & asking for the recipe! I left out the capers, used brown spicy mustard instead of Creole, added some Creole seasoning & put it all through my food processor to smooth out the chunks. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States