Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I am from New Orleans and this recipe is just like the Remoulade Sauce I enjoyed at so many N.O. restaurants. I made it exactly as listed, except that I put the scallions, parsley, olives, celery and garlic in a food processor before I added them to the other ingredients. This gave me a nice, smooth texture. The sauce was great with crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I throw out all my other Remoulade recipes after trying this. It is "Throw Momma from the train" good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne Honaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made this tonight for crab cakes and WOW! It is AWESOME! I left out the olives, scallions and celery (did not have on-hand) but added a jar of capers. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is an excellent sauce recipe! I made my own chili sauce using the 'Chili Sauce' recipe from here. I did not have creole mustard, so I used spicy brown mustard. I also did not have fresh parsley on hand, so I used some dried. Instead of plain chili powder, I opted to use chipotle chili powder and it gave the sauce a wonderful, smoky/spicy kick that I am loving. I wish I would have had the capers on hand, because I know they would be a wonderful addition, but I'll make sure I have them for next time. I made this to serve with salmon patties for dinner tonight, and I cannot wait to eat because I know this sauce is just gonna take them over the top. I will definately be making this again, and I cannot wait to try this on a fish sandwich~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
In a word - "awesome"! Yes, for the long list of ingredients it looks like a lot of work for not a lot of pay off, but trust me you'll be glad you tried this especially if you're having really good crab cakes! Just to be on the safe side trying this for the first time I cut the recipe in half. I didn't have Creole mustard, so I used dijon and added 1/4 tsp. of "Cajun Seasoning Mix" from this site. I always have it on hand in a tiny tupperware container along wtih my other spices. I used some Frank's red hot for the hot sauce and also opted to add the capers which was a really good decision. I did however cut the amount of salt in half as the salt from the olives and capers really makes up for it. I let it set in the fridge for a few hours to let the flavors come together and boy was it ever good! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent just the way it the recipe is. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I eyeballed all the spices in this recipe, so I really didn't follow it strictly (also I didn't have celery or mayo and substituted EVOO and a bit of sour cream, instead). That said, the blend of ingredients made a superb remoulade for my salmon cakes that truly made the dish after tweaking the ratios. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this delicious sauce last week to serve with my BIL fantastic crabcakes - a match made in heaven! I deviated by bumping up the garlic to four cloves, personal preference only. I'd like to try this with deli roast beef or use in a tuna salad. Thanks so much for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this as a sauce to serve with shrimp cocktail, along with a more traditional sauce, for Thanksgiving and it went over quite well – even got a request for the recipe!! I made this as directed, although I did tweak it here and there. I used a little less lemon juice and a little more chili sauce (just to use up the rest in the bottle). I didn’t see any need for the olive oil and left that out, and I didn’t use the capers. I’m planning on using the leftovers on some tilapia this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Worked out perfectly for me! I had it with crab cakes made with an Old Bay crab cake seasoning packet. I'm the slowest cook in the world, so I cut down the ingredients to make it more manageable for me. I omitted the parsley (though I used some dry parsley), olives, celery and capers. I also didn't have nor could I find Creole mustard, so I used regular French's mustard and some Creole seasoning. I used a little Sriracha sauce instead of the Louisiana-style hot sauce. Even with hacking up the recipe this much, it still turned out great! And I'm throwing out my bottle of store-bought remoulade sauce that tastes mediocre at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States