Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This fudge is great! I did a few things differently. I did not use a double boiler (I'm impatient!) I just put the milk, butter, and sugar in a heavy saucepan, brought to a boil, then cooked (stirring constantly) for about 5 minutes. Then I added everything else as this recipe suggests. This is definitely one for the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I have used this recipe for years. I got it out of a BH&G cookbook. I have learned over time that a candy thermometer is almost a must unless one is really good at judging a soft ball stage by dropping a drop of it in ice cold water. The recipe calls for 236 degrees but it has to come to 240 degrees (which is what any candy thermometer states as soft ball stage) in order for it to come out nicely. at that temp, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have used this recipe for decades. It is a terrific recipe that makes nice creamy chocolate fudge. It always gets raves from friends. The only difference is that I use 1 (12 oz) can of evaporated milk. (I don't like odd amounts left over, and I've never felt that it affected the outcome.) The real key to success is to always use a candy thermometer, and to always check the boiling point of water at the time you make the fudge. It varies each time. For example: Boiling point is 212 degree F. Today it was 8 degrees lower. That meant I needed to stop cooking the fudge at 228 degrees rather than at 236 degrees (soft ball stage). Therefore, it is critical that you always boil some water and check the boiling point before making candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This was very easy and versatile. . . make sure to bring to hard boil and keep it there for 10 minutes to make a firm fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Now that I am living in Australia I truly missed the recipe on the back of the marshmallow creme. When I actually found marshmallow cream here I had to try this. Well, it came out perfect like it always did in the USA. My Aussie friends raved over it also!Oh, and by the way I don't use a candy thermometre but I boil it for 10minutes stiring constantly then add chocolate,stir until melted & then marshmallow cream. This works perfectly every time!Oh, and I only put in three cups sugar. This was the way my Aunt made it years ago - her Aunt was the one who sent in the original recipe to Kraft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I'm tossing away my old fudge recipe and replacing it with this one. This was really good and easy fudge. I cooked it for about 20 minutes on med-high rather than the 12 because the sugar just wasn't melted enough at the specified time (could be because of where I live = I often have problems with baking here in FL). My family likes it more on the chocolaty side, so I threw in 2 extra Semi-sweet baking squares in addition to the bag of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
i used to make fudge exactly like this but i lost my recipe. i've been searching for a few years for this fudge. i've tried many other kinds only to throw it away. this is the most "remarkable fudge" and my family is excited to come over and taste our favorite fudge!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This recipe is very easy to follow. Very good end results!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Came out great - very simple and tasty. The end result was creamy, rich fudge. :) This is a lot like the recipe on the back of the Marshmallow Fluff jar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is one of the BEST fudge recipes i have ever tried. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States