Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe has about 4 times the butter called for in most fudge recipes?? Mine never got to the required heat, despite over 30 minutes of cooking and using direct heat after the double boiler wasn't doing the trick. I refrigerated it over night, but it never firmed up. Good flavor, but an unsuccessful fudge recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really good fudge and very easy to make! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrymodine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My son made this and it didn't turn out well at all. It was soft and had runny spots toward the middle. I think the double boiler was a bad idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Love this recipe. I usually double it. I use one bag of semi sweet chocolate chips and then a bag of cinnamon chips, or butterscotch, or peanut butter, or... whatever I find. My personal favorite is the chocolate cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I tried this recipe I have never made fudge before I did it on the stove top like other people have done I didn't have a candy thermometer so i tried boiling it for 10 minutes and i let it sit in the refrigerator overnight and it did not set properly it was gooey good flavor though i m gonna try it one more time and hope it comes out this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This is NOT easy fudge. I cooked this recipe 2 times and it never came out right. Used a candy thermometer both times. First time I cooked it to 236 degrees and it came out too soft. Next time I cooked it to 240 degrees and it came out rock hard. Got a very bad burn in the process. Typing this review with 4 fingers. I'll never try cooking fudge again. It's a waste of ingredients and flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the fudge my mom always made and it is my favorite to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This fudge was brilliant! I had my neighbors telling me that it was the best fudge they had ever had in their lives! I changed it a little, though, at it ended up PERFECT. First of all, I used regular milk instead of evaporated milk and brought it to a boil in a saucepan instead of a double boiler with the butter and sugar. I stirred constantly for 5 minutes and then removed from heat. Then I added chocolate chips, marshmallow creme, and vanilla (I didn't use the walnuts). After that I just poured it into a 13"x9" baking dish with the buttered foil. Next time I won't add foil: some of the foil stuck to the fudge. It was still AMAZING, though. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastrychefsam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've tried other recipes but always come back to this one. I've used it for years and always get asked for the recipe. As said above, definitely use a candy thermometer. I usually have to cook a little longer than 12 minutes. I also used a heavy duty saucepan b/c I don't have a double boiler. It always turns out fine. Make sure to get it in the pan quickly b/c once it is away from the heat, it starts to set up quickly. For variation, you can substitute different kinds of chips (peanut butter chips, white chocolate chips). We made cookies and creme fudge last year by using white chocolate chips and adding crushed oreos. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not necessary to line with foil. Correct - it is remarkable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States