Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe is simple and delicious. I used to make fudge growing up with my mother and grandmother around the holidays, and never really had a written recipe for fudge. This is the closest recipe I can find based on its ingredients and directions. Instead of a double boiler I used a heavy saucepan, and I melted my own marshmallows in place of using a jar of marshmallow creme. I would recommend using Ghiradelli chocolate chips for the taste. Also, once the chocolate is added and the mixture starts to thicken, mixing in one direction has given me the best results when it comes to texture. My best batch came out slightly oily-looking and didn't stick to the pan when pouring into containers. Let it cool uncovered for 2-3 hours, then refrigerate. It comes out great without walnuts too if you prefer. I made three batches this last holiday season and so far everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakedgoodness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, but it still would not harden. I use it as a topping on ice cream. I wish I could have used it as a "Remarkable Fudge." Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannf2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
same recipe my great grandmother used.... I make it every year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
way way way to hard to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is the best melt in your mouth fudge I've had in a long time! Very easy to make too! I didn't have a candy thermometer or a double boiler as the recipe calls for. I boiled the butter and sugar and evap. milk for 12 minutes, then added the rest of the ingredients. It set up perfectly! Thank you so much for this yummy recipe! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was my first time making fudge or any candy type dish for that matter. It was easy to make and turned out great. However I had to take it out of the double broiler because it would not heat to the correct temperature in it. It worked great on the stove top just had to constantly stir until it came to a boil. But other than that it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseMommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Siloam Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
i have never made a successful fudge ever this was so easy, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The flavor of the fudge is delicious. However, I now know we I should always check out the reviews before starting a recipe. The double boiler method was not working out as another stated...thermometer would not budge past 200º so switched to just the pot, brought up to temp stirring constantly with a wooden spoon. Omitted nuts, used whole can of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
SO. GOOD. I omitted the walnuts though. Like others have said, don't use a double boiler. Just cook over medium heat and stir constantly until it reaches 240 degrees on a candy thermometer. It took me about 30 minutes to get there so don't rush it. Your patience will pay off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States