Remarkable Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I do not understand any negative remarks this fudge has received. I made it on a very humid and rainy afternoon, boiled it to soft ball stage, poured it out, sliced it while it was still a bit warm, and today it is set up and ready to find its way into Christmas gift baskets. Completely awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
First time making fudge! Absolutely devine! I had bittersweet chocolate chips, which are a little too bitter for me, so I added about 4 oz. of Hershey's milk chocolate kisses with the other 8 oz. of bittersweet chocolate chips. The flavor turned out amazing, the perfect amount of milky flavor. For those of you who don't have evaporated milk at hand, I used a combination of 3/4 cup dry milk and 4/5 cup water which turned out as a perfect substitute. I will definitely be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This doesn't get hot enough when cooked in double boiler. I had to take it out of double boiler and cook in saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It seems to have turned out fine, but I, too, had trouble getting it up to temp in the double boiler. After nearly an hour, I ended up putting it all in the microwave in an 8 c. measuring bowl, and microwaving it a minute at a time until the temp came up. Ahh...a friend just told me a double boiler is designed to keep the ingredients in the top pan at or below the boiling temp of water (212F), so there's no way to get something up to 236F in a double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is similar to my mom's fudge recipe. The main differences I see are the amount of sugar & evaporated milk and how it's combined. My mom's calls for the butter, chocolate chips, nuts, marshmallow cream and a tsp of vanilla to be placed all in one bowl. Then over medium heat, you combine 3 cups of sugar and 1 1/3 cups of evaporated milk and bring to a rolling boil. You then allow it to continue to boil for exactly 8 minutes, stirring constantly. Then you pour the hot mixture over the chip mixture and stir until well combined and the chips and butter are melted. You then pour immediately into the pan and allow to chill for 1 hr to set up. Makes great fudge, BUT I have found over the years that you want to make sure and NOT make this on a humid day. It doesn't want to set up if you do. Well at least not in the south. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made this yesterday to send to friends and relatives out of town and it turned out very good. Like other reviewers I didn't use a double boiler, but buttered a 4 quart saucepan, which makes sure the mixture doesn't stick to the pan. I also cooked it using a candy thermometer (essential I think for making fudge) and heated it to almost 250 degrees and it came out great. With these few tweaks, I will be making this fudge recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This reminds me of the fudge we had growin up, I had to replace 7 oz marshmallow fluf for 1 1/2 cup of mini marshmallows. good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe is simple and delicious. I used to make fudge growing up with my mother and grandmother around the holidays, and never really had a written recipe for fudge. This is the closest recipe I can find based on its ingredients and directions. Instead of a double boiler I used a heavy saucepan, and I melted my own marshmallows in place of using a jar of marshmallow creme. I would recommend using Ghiradelli chocolate chips for the taste. Also, once the chocolate is added and the mixture starts to thicken, mixing in one direction has given me the best results when it comes to texture. My best batch came out slightly oily-looking and didn't stick to the pan when pouring into containers. Let it cool uncovered for 2-3 hours, then refrigerate. It comes out great without walnuts too if you prefer. I made three batches this last holiday season and so far everyone has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakedgoodness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, but it still would not harden. I use it as a topping on ice cream. I wish I could have used it as a "Remarkable Fudge." Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannf2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
same recipe my great grandmother used.... I make it every year. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States