Rellenitos de Platano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
There is one ingredient missing on this recipe. Add 1 stick of cinnamon to the water when cooking the plantains (remove the stick before mashing them). Do the same with the black beans. This is the original Guatemalan recipe. Some people also like to add a square of "cinnamon chocolate" which you can get at Mexican or Central American stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My mother-in-law made these for me when she was visiting from Guatemala and I have made them a few times. I omit the salt. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I grew up on platanos (plantains) and they are great! For a simpler treat, peel, slice up, and fry them in a bit of oil. The trick is to first let them ripen until the SKINS's all black and getting moldy. Yes, it sounds gross, but this lets the starches break down & makes the plaintains extra sweet! They're perfect with just some black beans and sour cream, but throw in some fried eggs and it's the best breakfast ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I love this recipe! I taught a Spanish class this summer and for our last class we all brought food, the only rule was that it had to be Latin. So I went on a search for something out of the ordinary and found this. Everyone loved it! I was surprised at how easy it was to work with the mashed plantain, I thought it would be too sticky but it wasn't. I didn't have any refried black beans so I used a can of black beans, drained most of the liquid and mashed them. Instead of sour cream I used "media crema" (table cream) that you can find in the Mexican aisle of most major grocery stores. I used platanos maduros and didn't try the cinnamon as another reviewer suggested but I might next time. I will definitely make this again. ¡Gracias por compartir esta receta tan buena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
For this recipe you MUST use ripened plantains, with green plantains it will taste completely different. It won't necessarily be bad but it is a totally different dish altogether because plantains change in texture and flavor when they ripen. If you use green, these will be more like a potato dumpling filled with beans and will favor a savory taste. If you use ripe plantains these will be softer and have a sweet taste, similar to a sweet potato fritter (slightly sweeter depending on the ripeness level of the plantains). I am using the potato/sweet potato analogy to give you an idea of the sweetness, not because the taste is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I gave it 5 stars because it's sure to taste good. But what's missing from the recipe is whether one should use platanos maduros or platanos verdes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I am Guatemalan born in the US and I've always had these. This is as close as you're going to get to the ones in El mercado central! couple of suggestions: Boil the plantains with a stick of cinnamon and use very rippened plantains. Greasy black peel almost moldy works best. It's easier to work with and is way sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I tried this recipe for an Xmas party. It went over great for those who weren't afraid to try it. I served it as an appetizer and it was yummy and not at all sweet. Use an electric mixer for mashing the bannanas and that will speed things up a bit in the preparation time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
All the family loved them. Next time omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I like this recipe but i added more sugar to the beans and left out the salt .. also i placed the plantains in the water with their peels to give it more flavor and put 2 tablespoons of sugar and some cinnamon in the water as well ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States