Rellenitos de Platano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
To add to authentic taste: As the previous reviewer suggested, add a stick or two of cinnamon when boiling the plantains. For a sweeter taste (or to make it more likely that ninos will eat them), when you mash the plantains, add a bit of sugar. I also make salted cinnamon fudge to put inside. If you want it purely as dessert, you can even use cinnamon fudge in place of the beans; but to keep it authentic keep the beans, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suerte126

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
For this recipe you MUST use ripened plantains, with green plantains it will taste completely different. It won't necessarily be bad but it is a totally different dish altogether because plantains change in texture and flavor when they ripen. If you use green, these will be more like a potato dumpling filled with beans and will favor a savory taste. If you use ripe plantains these will be softer and have a sweet taste, similar to a sweet potato fritter (slightly sweeter depending on the ripeness level of the plantains). I am using the potato/sweet potato analogy to give you an idea of the sweetness, not because the taste is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I like this recipe but i added more sugar to the beans and left out the salt .. also i placed the plantains in the water with their peels to give it more flavor and put 2 tablespoons of sugar and some cinnamon in the water as well ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I was looking for something from Guatemala besides black beans and tortillas ( which are great!)These were delicious! I took them to a church function and the plate was left empty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I liked these fine though they were a little difficult to handle. Not sure I'd make them again. Boyfriend didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I am Guatemalan born in the US and I've always had these. This is as close as you're going to get to the ones in El mercado central! couple of suggestions: Boil the plantains with a stick of cinnamon and use very rippened plantains. Greasy black peel almost moldy works best. It's easier to work with and is way sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Absolutely delicious. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Tesorito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My mother-in-law made these for me when she was visiting from Guatemala and I have made them a few times. I omit the salt. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
All the family loved them. Next time omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States