Regular Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Maybe I did something wrong or perhaps its my taste, but 8 cups of liquid just did not make it...at least with a whole 12 oz package of noodles. Once I added the noodles, the liquid was basically all gone...and I ended up adding chicken broth I had on hand to at least keep it simmerable for two hours. Tasted great though and very easy, ingredients are usually ones you have on hand and with two kids with the flu, I was happy to have found it. I think its a great simple recipe to try but I wouldn't add ALL the noodles at once till you're comfortable with the amount of liquid in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used half chicken broth and half water. I let the veggies cook 15 min then added raw chopped up chicken breats to make it's own broth. Let that cook about 20 min then tossed in the noodles for the last ten minutes. It was wonderful. Added some parsley and salt and pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I have only made chicken noodle soup a couple of times. I saw this recipe and read the reviews and decided to make it. I had to make so many changes, I should have wrote my own recipe. First of all there isn't enough liquid for the amount of ingredients. I used 12 cups of liquid and the amount of chicken bouillon accordingly. I cooked the vegetables in the broth. I cooked the chicken seperately. It was bland to say the least. I then added a few bay leaves, some dried oregano and basil, poultry seasoning and lots of black pepper. I added the chicken back and simmered for about 15 minutes. I cooked only 6 ounces of the egg noodles, which was more than enough. I added the noodles at the end to keep them from being mushy. My soup at this point was delicious and got rave reviews. Just a note... it doesn't take 2 hours of simmering to be done. Mine was done in half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I gave it four stars because it needed some modification. Use 8c chicken broth instead of water and bouillon cubes, the taste is MUCH better that way. Also, I added some parsley, salt and pepper. I also do this in the crock pot. I add everything but the noodles and cook it on low all day. Makes the house smell WONDERFUL! Then I switch the crock pot to high and add the noodles (half what the recipe calls for, 12oz is waaay too much)about an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very good, but I agree that it needs a little more seasoning. Chicken broth instead of water helps boost the flavor, and I added some parsley, salt and pepper. NOTE: I always cook my noodles separately and add them to soup--keeps the starch from affecting the flavor. All in all, a good soup for the winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
good base but needed to add spices like garlic, parsly, and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Recipes was great but needed to add Broth/water to my soup after 30 minutes of cooking.The noodles soaked up all my juice. Recommend adding the noodles in the last 20 minutes of cooking. Tasted great though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was an easy recipe. There was way to many noodles for the amount of water. I would cut the noodles in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Nice recipe for a single guy like me. After adjusting the water and noodles, I freeze in 2 cup portions. Reheat frozen portions for a quick, cheap and tasty meal. Oh yea, add white pepper! yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
The soup tasted great, but I had to add about 4 more cups of water and more chicken broth, and I didn't even put in all the noodles that the recipie called for. But it turned out fine, and it was really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States