Regular Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
Maybe I did something wrong or perhaps its my taste, but 8 cups of liquid just did not make it...at least with a whole 12 oz package of noodles. Once I added the noodles, the liquid was basically all gone...and I ended up adding chicken broth I had on hand to at least keep it simmerable for two hours. Tasted great though and very easy, ingredients are usually ones you have on hand and with two kids with the flu, I was happy to have found it. I think its a great simple recipe to try but I wouldn't add ALL the noodles at once till you're comfortable with the amount of liquid in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
The soup tasted great, but I had to add about 4 more cups of water and more chicken broth, and I didn't even put in all the noodles that the recipie called for. But it turned out fine, and it was really easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was so easy! It looked liked I slaved for hours! My family loved this soup! This is one recipe I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Recipes was great but needed to add Broth/water to my soup after 30 minutes of cooking.The noodles soaked up all my juice. Recommend adding the noodles in the last 20 minutes of cooking. Tasted great though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
WOW!! Way, way, way too many noodles. I removed at least half and there were still too many. I added a lot of salt, pepper, spices. Once I doctored it up it tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was very easy to make, but 2 hours was way too long to simmer! The noodles were so mushy they fell apart. I used seasoned bouillon granules for a little extra flavor, and only simmered for an hour, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was an easy recipe. There was way to many noodles for the amount of water. I would cut the noodles in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
So easy to make. Had a sick family and everyone loved it... Perfect, I did cut some of the noodles in half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I like this recipe because it is much easier to cook chicken breasts than to cook the whole bird! Then I only simmered for about 45 minutes. And as other suggested added a reduced amount of noodles with about 15 minutes left to cook. I also added corn. Perfect for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used half chicken broth and half water. I let the veggies cook 15 min then added raw chopped up chicken breats to make it's own broth. Let that cook about 20 min then tossed in the noodles for the last ten minutes. It was wonderful. Added some parsley and salt and pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States