Regular Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Easy to make but lacking in some flavor. Needed pepper and garlic. I also added dill and some of the celery leaves from the top of the stalks while it simmered (old tricks from my grandmother) OK but I think I will stick with my Grandma's way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Canton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I have only made chicken noodle soup a couple of times. I saw this recipe and read the reviews and decided to make it. I had to make so many changes, I should have wrote my own recipe. First of all there isn't enough liquid for the amount of ingredients. I used 12 cups of liquid and the amount of chicken bouillon accordingly. I cooked the vegetables in the broth. I cooked the chicken seperately. It was bland to say the least. I then added a few bay leaves, some dried oregano and basil, poultry seasoning and lots of black pepper. I added the chicken back and simmered for about 15 minutes. I cooked only 6 ounces of the egg noodles, which was more than enough. I added the noodles at the end to keep them from being mushy. My soup at this point was delicious and got rave reviews. Just a note... it doesn't take 2 hours of simmering to be done. Mine was done in half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Outstanding recipe, Highly recommended for the learner who like something fast. When I made it it was gone over nite.( serving of 6).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Very good, but I agree that it needs a little more seasoning. Chicken broth instead of water helps boost the flavor, and I added some parsley, salt and pepper. NOTE: I always cook my noodles separately and add them to soup--keeps the starch from affecting the flavor. All in all, a good soup for the winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is the best I've eaten,even my mother-in-law ate some and she eats little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I gave it four stars because it needed some modification. Use 8c chicken broth instead of water and bouillon cubes, the taste is MUCH better that way. Also, I added some parsley, salt and pepper. I also do this in the crock pot. I add everything but the noodles and cook it on low all day. Makes the house smell WONDERFUL! Then I switch the crock pot to high and add the noodles (half what the recipe calls for, 12oz is waaay too much)about an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Added 1 tablespoon of thyme salt and pepper. Noodles were mushy had to add 2 more cups of water. Good flavor next time I will cook the noodles for 20 min. then add before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is an excellent resource for a quick meal. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Nice recipe for a single guy like me. After adjusting the water and noodles, I freeze in 2 cup portions. Reheat frozen portions for a quick, cheap and tasty meal. Oh yea, add white pepper! yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
good base but needed to add spices like garlic, parsly, and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States