Regular Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Tastes just like Mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
As others have mentioned, this recipe is a great starting point. I used kitchen shears to cut the chicken breasts into bite sized pieces, then I boiled those (to help it cook more quickly). I added 1 tsp poultry seasoning, 1 tsp parsley, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and a little bit of black pepper. I used 6 ounces of noodles, and that was almost too much. I used the small shell pasta, because that is what I had on hand. It still turned out fantastically! My two toddlers gobbled it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I ended up having to add 1 1/2 cups water as it was cooking. The noodles just seemed to suck up all the liquid. And a word to the wise....this does not freeze well. I would prepare this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This needs a lot more spice. Also the noodles turn out much better if you boil them seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Drain the chicken juice?? You mean throw it out?? Oh my NO!! That should be used as stock for the soup. I boil my chicken in water with onion, salt and pepper then strain the juice into your soup kettle. Pick out the chicken,dice up and save until the soup is ready. Go ahead and add the carrots, celery more onion, etc. The chicken won't become tough and stringy if you add it back later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Springbrook, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I love this recipe. It's quick, it's something I can throw on the stove after work and jump in the shower. It does require a few modifications. For instance, always plan on adding two extra cups of water and two extra chicken cubes. However, I've found that if you put your onion, celery, and carrots into a food processor, you need to add very little extra seasoning. I also make sure to use a white onion. I've found this way even my little brother, who hates cooked carrots and onions, will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I had this crazy idea of inviting my family over for chicken soup instead of having a normal house warming party. Decided to try this recipe it really is simple and easy to make. I also changed the recipe a little though. I used raw diced up chicken for the extra flavor and the richness from the little bit of fat in it. I also threw a bay leaf (mom said so) and some fresh parsley in. I used the classic lipton style noodles for the soup. I had to triple the recipe since i have a large family and noticed i didn't need as much carrot and celery as stated but with alot of extra water it turned out great. I ended up with 2 army sized pots full of soup and it was definatly a hit because there is not a single bowl leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchmummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this soup with pheasant and quail. I added a little fresh nutmeg to go with the wild taste. With the fresh veggies, garlic and onion a slow simmer hid or deleted the gamey taste of the meat. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Good Starter Chicken Soup. I needed to add about 4 cups more water, more chicken bullion. But it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is a good start recipe. Instead of boneless breasts I used boned and boiled the meat off and skin it helps to add that chicken flavor and about 2 teaspoons of chicken flavor. After the chicken is cooked and deboned then I added the extras. It isn't too hard to see the water level is low and simply added a bit as needed. I found adding a bit after the noodles cooked stopped the soggyness. It's a good start recipe. It doens't hurt to salt and pepper the chicken as it's boilling down. It definetly was the recipe i was looking for in regards to ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States