Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is how I modify this recipe for 1 Gallon jar of pickles and veggies: 15 pickling cucumbers, 1 red bell pepper (cut bite size), 1 yellow bell pepper (cut bite size), 2 texas sweet onions (cut bite size), 1 entire stalk of celery (cut bite size), 8 carrots (peeled and cut on bias). Then 2 Tablespoons salt, 2 teaspoons of celery seed. Brine is made of 1 3/4 cups sugar, and 1 1/4 cup white wine vinegar. I only put cucumber, onion bellpepper into the salt mixture. These are all the vegetables that we have tried and they are great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Hamblen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These are the crispest pickles! I did cut the sugar in half, left out the sweet peppers, added 1 t. pickling spice instead of the celery seed and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Wonderful! I have had the piclkes for 1 week and already shared the recipe with 5 friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
So easy to do, and the taste is excellent. I even kept adding cucumbers for weeks into the recipe and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Pickles are crisp, frest tasting and delightfully good. My husband and I are sure to get raves when we take these pickles to our family outing. It took no time at all for us to make them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very, very good. I'll cut the sugar next time, but I think that's just personal preference - my husband did not think they were too sweet at all. I might also do an experiment with Splenda. Used white onion because I didn't have red. I cut the cucumbers REALLY thin, so it turned out more like a cucumber salad than pickles, but delicious nonetheless. Plan to double or triple if you're taking to a picnic or barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I liked these pickles. They were my first try at making pickles. Very easy to make. My husband did not care for them, he said they taste too much like cucumbers. If you like cucumber salad, you will like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
My 15 year old daughter made these with cucumbers out of my mom's garden! They were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
Great Fun!! Great Taste!! Easy as Easy Gets!!Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
These pickles are delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing it! A neighbor had given a bag full of cucumbers and I was looking for something to make with them. I made PICKLES and plan to share them with my neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Easy to make and taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Talladega, Alabama, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States