Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were good. There are a little on the sweet side though. I think this would be an exceptional sweet relish if you just chop the cukes and strain whatever portion you would be using. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Easy and everyone that visits our house loves these pickles. This recipe allows us to use the many extra cucumbers from the organic farm this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmbahr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great for all those cukes. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Yum! The flavor was there! Used one cup of sugar and it was great. Will try to slice the cukes a little thicker so they aren't so limp. Reminds of the kind my mom used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Dally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
These pickles are wonderful. I used the engllish cucumbers, long and narrow, wrapped in plastic. They worked beautifully, I did not peel. I just sliced them in the food processor, it took about 15 seconds. I also did the red onion this way. I used multi color peppers. The cucumbers cost $3.00 for the 3 of them, and made a large amount of pickles. I got them at Aldi's. Thanks for a great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Quick and Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This recipe has truly been a family favorite for generations. Heating the vinegar/sugar/salt mixture helps the sugar dissolve quicker, but be sure you cool it first to keep the cukes crisp. Also be sure you add some powdered alum for crispness and longevity. I use a large tupperware bowl and fill it with the cukes and onions before pouring the syrup over them. These can be kept for up to 12 months, just keep adding thinly sliced cukes and onions as the container gets low. My family eats this as cucumber/onion salad (nobody likes gr pepper in it here)or pickles on burgers or hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These are the crispest pickles! I did cut the sugar in half, left out the sweet peppers, added 1 t. pickling spice instead of the celery seed and 2 t. red pepper flakes. Wonderful! I have had the piclkes for 1 week and already shared the recipe with 5 friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
These are very sweet and tangy which is how I like them. Onion and green pepper were a nice addition. I made as directed except for slicing thicker. My kids liked them, too. I love them the way they are, but I would agree with the suggestion to cut the sugar for those who don't like their pickles so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These were very good! I did follow the advice of others and cut sugar in half. Not too sweet and not too vinegary. Also, I did not cut paper thin, I cut a little thicker. Perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States