Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
SO easy & SO delicious! Used 1 cup of sugar and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
this is the first time i've ever made pickles, it was so easy and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Quick and easy recipe for sweet pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
If you take the advice to halve the amount of sugar, this really is a 5 star recipe. I'm not a big fan of celery seed so I left that out. I made half with dried dill and half with a couple of crushed cloves of garlic - I like the garlic pickles just a little bit more. This is a great way to use up garden cukes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I've had many great compliments from the folks I've shared the pickles. My revision was to use red bell pepper, as I liked the color contrast. I also used 1 and half cups sugar instead of the two cups. A recent change I tried was to add hot banana pepper. I have several growing in the garden. I sliced the pepper into rings and then put about 3 rings in each container before adding the pickles. Just a few pepper rings in each container added a great kick to the pickles! Very easy recipe overall and great way to use up the cucumbers! Update: I had too many zucchini, so made this recipe with the zucchini. Turned out well too! The zuccs did not break down as much as the cucs did; but I also did not let them sit in the salt for the prescribed time before adding the rest of the ingredients. Regardless, still good tasting "pickles" and another way to use the zuccs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
yum. cut the sugar to 1 cup and used som white vinegar as I was shy of the cider vinegar. Also, used fresh dill in place of th celery seed. Three jars were gone in one week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This made the best pickles I have ever eaten. And judging by the requests I got for the recipe (and more pickles!), others obviously agree! I used 1 cup of sugar, red bell pepper, and a regular sweet onion, thinly sliced end to end. I used 2 tsp. of kosher salt. I cut into slightly thick slices, and they were incredibly crunchy, and so delicious. The cider vinegar is a great idea, it is much milder tasting than white vinegar. LOVE this recipe, and will be using it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
WE LOVE PICKLES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This a great and really easy. They were a little sweet for our taste so next time we'd add less sugar. We also added some different kinds of peppers to the mix because of what we had in our garden. These are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These are very good! I followed the recipe exactly, although I did take other reviewers' recommendations and stick a clove of garlic in two of the jars. I couldn't stop snacking on them right off the bat and am looking forward to see how they taste after a few days in the jars. This made almost 4 pints for us. I think I could have included 8 cups of cucumbers instead of 7. Might try adding a pinch of alum next time like another reviewer recommended. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States