Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I've made this twice, the first time I thought it had a lot of sugar but my husband liked it. Then second time I put in less sugar and then ended up adding it back in because of the vinegar taste/smell. Overall it was an easy, yummy thing to do with the abundance of cucumbers this time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made mine with only one very large cucumber - about 3 1/2 cups worth - and left out the peppers. However, they were the most amazing pickles... my grandma used to make the same ones when I was a kid on summer vacation at her house. I think that everyone should try some of these! I hate dill, but I could eat these all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved these, they came out perfect and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Couldn't have been any easier! I used a mandolin to slice the veggies; very thin blade for onions and peppers- medium blade for cukes and it took just a couple of minutes. As soon as I finished mixing in the sugar and vinegar, I tasted them and they were too sweet for me. For an easy fix, I drained off some of the liquid and replaced with more vinegar- next time I will taste after I add one cup of sugar and go from there- too bad I didn't think of this first :) I used a sweet onion as thats all I had in the house and added a big pinch of red pepper flakes, they taste great. I am looking forward to experimenting with different types of vinegars and seasonings, but this really is a simple and yummy way to enjoy the bounty of the season right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Love these! Great flavor and definitely enjoy them being crisp. I used 1/2 the sugar. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used 4 rather large cucumbers from the garden and then did not add any green bell pepper (as I didn't have any). I followed the recipe exactly and these little gems are addicting! I love the sweet/sour flavor and the red onions are wonderful too. Oh, no celery seed on hand so I used Beau Monde seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love this recipe - I did cut the sugar in half (bascially because I didn't have enough) but thought the flavor was great - perfect amount of sweetness for me. Great way to use up a ton of cukes I got out of my garden - only wish I'd found it sooner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
They taste like cucumbers to me. And I found the vinegar didn't cover the pickles so I added some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
SO easy & SO delicious! Used 1 cup of sugar and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
this is the first time i've ever made pickles, it was so easy and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States