Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Nice salad cucumbers. But would never pass for pickles. They don't taste anything like pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
i'm pregnant and LOVED this. i'm almost just ate the whole batch. and it wasn't as big of a pain of chopping things as i expected. i used 1 1/2 c. sugar and will cut back to 1 c. next time. (there will be a next time) added a handful of dried chili peppers to add some spice -- which worked, but i had to squeeze the juice/seeds out after they had marinated for a little bit. i agree it is more of a cuc salad, and wish i had discovered this over the summer when cucs were more rampant. for now, i'll just hope my food co-op continues to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
i always have these in my fridge! LOVE THEM. i use about half the sugar as i like my pickles a little spicy. i also add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Easy and super delicious. Perfect use for garden cukes. I did not have celery seed so I used red pepper flakes as another user suggested and they added a nice kick and a nice touch of color. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you, Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made these and they are great! I didn't have the pepper so I left it out and cut the sugar down to 1 cup and they were perfect for me. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I've made this twice, the first time I thought it had a lot of sugar but my husband liked it. Then second time I put in less sugar and then ended up adding it back in because of the vinegar taste/smell. Overall it was an easy, yummy thing to do with the abundance of cucumbers this time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made mine with only one very large cucumber - about 3 1/2 cups worth - and left out the peppers. However, they were the most amazing pickles... my grandma used to make the same ones when I was a kid on summer vacation at her house. I think that everyone should try some of these! I hate dill, but I could eat these all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Loved these, they came out perfect and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Couldn't have been any easier! I used a mandolin to slice the veggies; very thin blade for onions and peppers- medium blade for cukes and it took just a couple of minutes. As soon as I finished mixing in the sugar and vinegar, I tasted them and they were too sweet for me. For an easy fix, I drained off some of the liquid and replaced with more vinegar- next time I will taste after I add one cup of sugar and go from there- too bad I didn't think of this first :) I used a sweet onion as thats all I had in the house and added a big pinch of red pepper flakes, they taste great. I am looking forward to experimenting with different types of vinegars and seasonings, but this really is a simple and yummy way to enjoy the bounty of the season right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States