Refrigerator Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I am not a fan of sweet pickles but I had seen this recipe recommended on the buzz and I decided to give it a try. I have to join in the chorus of praise. This recipe turns cucumbers into crunchy, cold slices of heaven on a hot summer day! After I made them I couldn't stop eating them. Seven cups sounded like an awful lot of cucumbers but it's really not that many. I used more garlic than the recipe called for because I like it anyway and my garlic was getting a little old. I will definitely be keeping these around and can't wait to share them with friends and family. I think I'll try them with English (seedless) cucumbers or I'll just scoop the seeds after slicing the cucumbers lengthwise but that's a purely personal preference. Thanks for sharing, Gary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipie might have helped me have a better marriage... I'm not a huge pickle fan myself, but we live overseas and cannot buy pickles... and that for my husband was not okay! I add dill seasonings to my pickles and reduce sugar/hot spices. They turn out pretty darn good... almost like dill pickles in the states... but not quite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Not really pickles, but delicious all the same! To make "pickles" crispy, MAKE THE VINEGAR SOLUTION FIRST, and refrigerate. Use REFRIGERATED cucumbers and after salting, put them BACK in the frig. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup; used 2 cups Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar (it has mother in it, great stuff); used the Hothouse English Cucumbers in plastic wrap, and peeled them a little bit, not all the way. No onion and no green pepper; instead I placed a fresh Serrano chile pepper halved lengthwise in each jar, because we appreciate hot and spicy food. I did use a Tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes, and a Tablespoon of celery seed. If I had fresh dill I would have tossed a sprig in. I put the cucumbers into the jars first, then covered them to the top with the vinegar solution. If you don't have enough vinegar solution, do NOT add water...just fill each jar up evenly, then top with more vinegar. Taste the next day, some may prefer more sugar, but not me! Another good thing...as each jar empties of pickles, just add more cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Nice salad cucumbers. But would never pass for pickles. They don't taste anything like pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
i'm pregnant and LOVED this. i'm almost just ate the whole batch. and it wasn't as big of a pain of chopping things as i expected. i used 1 1/2 c. sugar and will cut back to 1 c. next time. (there will be a next time) added a handful of dried chili peppers to add some spice -- which worked, but i had to squeeze the juice/seeds out after they had marinated for a little bit. i agree it is more of a cuc salad, and wish i had discovered this over the summer when cucs were more rampant. for now, i'll just hope my food co-op continues to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
i always have these in my fridge! LOVE THEM. i use about half the sugar as i like my pickles a little spicy. i also add red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Easy and super delicious. Perfect use for garden cukes. I did not have celery seed so I used red pepper flakes as another user suggested and they added a nice kick and a nice touch of color. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you, Gary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I made these and they are great! I didn't have the pepper so I left it out and cut the sugar down to 1 cup and they were perfect for me. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I've made this twice, the first time I thought it had a lot of sugar but my husband liked it. Then second time I put in less sugar and then ended up adding it back in because of the vinegar taste/smell. Overall it was an easy, yummy thing to do with the abundance of cucumbers this time of year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

You’ll love the bright colors and fresh flavor of these wonderful pickles.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States