Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I will never buy refried beans again!!! The only thing I did different was using 1/2 Black Beans & 1/2 Pinto. My family thought they were better than anything bought! If you want to make a large batch of bean dip, after mashing the beans add:2 C.salsa, 2C.shredded Co-Jack cheese, 2C. shredded pepperjack cheese,8oz. creamcheese, 16oz. sourcream, 2T. chili powder, 1/2t. ground cumin...mix and let cook a couple hours longer so flavors can blend.Makes a huge batch so just freeze leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I make refried beans all the time and I thought I had my recipe down, but I have to say that though more simple with less ingredients than my own, these beans are THE BEST! The only change I made was I used chicken broth instead of water, which I believe made for richer and yummier tasting beans. Because of the chicken broth, I also reduced the amount of salt. This is how I will make my beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
These beans were delicious! I used to cook them in the Pot for 4 hours with only onion and salt...but WOW...THIS IS MY NEW RECIPE!! I only added 3 teaspoons of salt and will add only 1 tablespoon of garlic next time. I cooked them on High for 8 hours as called for in the recipe and they came out great!! After they were done cooking,I served a bowl to my husband ( frijoles de la hoya)and then I transferred some of the beans (along with some juice) to a pan and mashed them. I added a little bit of lard, a tad of milk and some cheese to make them creamy. The beans were PERFECT without adding lard,milk and cheese...I only added those ingrediants because I am mexican and that is how we have been refrying beans for generations. I couldn't break the habit :) I think next time I will try subsituting 2 cups of water for 2 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
697 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by †Angela†

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Salty! Oh my gosh this is salty-3 tsp would have been enough. In the restaurant I use to work at we added 1 TBSP sugar and 1 TBSP chili powder (along with 1/4 cup oil or lard) Good way to cook them but wish I would have cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Try using a hand blender to "mash" the beans while in the broth..you can ladel off some of the broth first if your concerned..you can use it to reheat/thin the bean another day. Freeze refried beans with the extra broth on top in a jar. Good way to have fast refried beans later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These turned out really good. My family ate them in bean burritos last night with chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce, shredded cheddar, avocado, and sour cream. I omitted the jalapeno, otherwise they would've been too spicy for my 5 year old. To clarify, the halved onion completely disintegrates while cooking--I was worried about having a hunk of onion, but it works just the way it's written. Also, I used 1/2 of the salt--you can always add more salt once they are done, but I didn't. Once cooked, I poured the beans into a collander and allowed some of the juice to drain off, otherwise they would have been too wet for burritos. I then mashed them with a potato masher several good times, and they were great. Next time I make these, I'll try the black bean/pinto bean combo that others have suggested, and I may also add some reduced sodium taco seasoning instead of salt for more flavor. These are a fabulous substitute for canned refried beans, and I plan on freezing the leftovers for another meal--this does make a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Delicious! I cut the salt to 2 1/2 tsp. and added a can of green chillies in place of the jalepenos. It turned out great! I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good. I left mine in for about 9 hours and mashing them was a snap. The flavor was just right; actually we found it to be very close to the canned variety (which we like). But we fried the leftovers with a little olive oil the next day and they were amazing! If you have the time, definitely give that route a try because it's twice as good. Also, this makes a lot, as most slow cooker recipes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Excellent. Life saver. Thank you! My Mom forgot that she was going to make the beans for my Mexican "Fiasco" and I ran to my local pantry and picked up the pinto beans.....threw these in the crock pot 10 p.m., the next morning....mmmmm smelled so good. I used 1 cup of the reserved liquid, stuck them in the kitchen aid to "mash" them and they were perfect. Got many compliments on this very easy recipe! Thanks CHEFCLAUDE!!!!! Your my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
5 star recipe! I've made this a couple of times when I planned on serving tacos or enchiladas. Great time saver using the crock pot and a very simple recipe that yeilds fantastic results. Of course, every cook personalizes a recipe to accomodate their family's taste so here's my changes: add three slices of bacon, upped the cumin to 1 tsp, chicken broth in place of the water, cut the salt and adjusted to taste at the end. In place of the water, I used the broth remaining from parboiling chicken for Chicken Enchiladas I from this site (fabulous recipe BTW) consisting of chicken stock, celery, green ortega chilis, garlic, cumin, chili powder, tomato sauce, black peppercorns, oregano and onions. This gives the beans an absolutely superb flavor! It's wonderful without my stock, but using it gives this recipe an added boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States