Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I live at a high altitude (a bit over 7,000 ft.) but the beans were still done after 8 hours, which is awesome. I didn't use jalapeno, which I think I will next time as these were bland. Also WAY too salty, probably 3 teaspoons (or less) is enough, especially if you are eating it with cheese, as that adds salt anyway. I doubled the cumin (in another recipe I have it calls for 2 tsp. with this many beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe! But DO cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I grow my own pinto beans and my family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was an awesome dish! I read other reviews, and decided to use 3 Cups chicken broth for liquid, and only 2 tsp. of salt. So easy and awesome, not any leftovers at the family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
A bit salty, I should have read the other reviews, but really easy and tasty nonetheless . A refried taste without the high fat content. I'll make this recipe again but will reduce the salt !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
5 tsp salt is definitely too much. I cut it to 2 tsp and that wasn't quite enough. I'll try 2-1/2 next time--and there WILL be a next time. You can't beat the texture, and the hint of jalapeno and onion were perfect. For those who like any amount of heat, at least double the jalapeno. We prefer things mild, and the flavor was there without any real spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I tried it and it came out so delicious. I added bacon grease and it gave it amazing flavor. (so I recommend the bacon grease.) Also be quite careful about the salt in this recipe. It is WAY too much! Add less salt or add salt slowly and gradually until you get the taste you desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was great. I was skeptical of the flavor at first but the end product was exquisite. I cooked mine on low overnight and only added 3 teaspoons of salt instead of 5. You can always add more salt at the end if you needed. This recipe is so much better than what you buy at the store, Thank You Chef Claude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jermy A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Love this recipe. I use 1-1/2 Tbps minced garlic from a jar, 4 fps salt, 1 Tbps bacon grease, 1 diced jalapeno, 2 diced green chilies, only 8 cups of water. Then I removed 2 cups of water and it is the perfect thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I like so many of us would buy canned refried beans. After looking at the cost difference in making from dry vs can, I decided to make from dry. This a GREAT recipe. The good thing about making these 'beans' is that you can make them and freeze them if not going to use all at once. (we have some type of with beans dish atleast once a week) and the kids use then for breakfast tacos. I have over time adjusted the seasoning to our tastes but with those listed. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States