Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Adjusted the serving size to 5 and it was a perfect sized helping for just two people. They turned out so good, I made another batch the next day for my daughters family. We both agree no need to look any further. This recipe is "the one".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Been making this recipe for months... It is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great recipe!! I processed the beans in my vita mix instead of mashing them...came out perfect! Hubby loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I grew up with Hispanic friends and had a elderly Hispanic woman living near me who taught me to cook real Mexican food. I also measure a Mexican restaurant by their rice and beans that being said I have never had refried beans with Jalapeno in them. Very simple, cook the beans in chicken stock period. You can add the spice of your choice ie cumin, chili powder, garlic or pepper. When the beans split open then mash until the thickness you like is achieved. This is a case of simple is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My only issue with this recipe was that it was a tad too salty. An easy fix. These are better than any canned refried beans and pretty much as good as or better than) any I've had in Mexican restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These are the best refried beans I've ever tasted...even better than in the Mexican restaurants. I added lots of garlic salt since we love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have read discussions about these beans for long enough. It was time I try them and get over my fear of using dried beans. Wow, what a simple and tasty recipe! I added all the ingredients (only used 2 1/2 tsp. salt, 1 whole jalapeño, and added the cumin) to the crockpot and at about hour 6 the juices were at a slow boil around the edges of the crockpot. I just let them boil as there was still plenty of juice. I drained them at the 8 hour mark, saving the juice, and mashed them. The first night we had them, no extra juice was needed as the beans were warm. After refrigerating them and reheating I needed to add some of the extra juice I had saved. My DH, who isn't a huge fan of refried beans loved these. I froze 3 containers for another time. A fantastic recipe, simple to make, and one that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is my go to recipe for no-refried beans. Easy to throw together before heading off to work in AM on low. Have some for dinner and freeze the rest in ziploc baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Absolutely fabulous!! So pleased with this recipe! Thank you so for it. Everyone loved it, can't believe how tasty and versatile. Will keep it as a staple now. PS. I only used 8 cups of water, and smoked paprika instead of cumin ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smilinrosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great! Never will buy canned refried beans again. Didn't add salt until beans were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States