Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was certainly easy. Following the reviews of others I cut back on the salt (figuring I could always add more later) and added a little more cumin. I over blended using my immersion blender so in the future I'd prefer more whole beans. Next time I'll set some beans aside and blend the rest in the crock then combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was great! Even better the next day,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have been making this recipe now for approx 6 years! It is so good I haven't bought refried beans since. I make the full batch and freeze them in containers big enough for may family. I use an immersion blender for half then add the rest before freezing. excellent recipe. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. They smelled amazing throughout the entire day and the turned out delicious! Thank you for sharing. It is definitely a recipe you can adjust based off your own taste preferences (if you want more jalapeno or you want to add some different flavors via seasonings, etc.). I can't say I won't ever buy a can of refried beans again, but when I plan enough in advance, I will use this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I worked at Taco Bell in the 70's and I came in early to cook the beans and meat for the day.I used beans,water,armour lard and salt.That is it.They were cooked in 2 big pressure cooker's.When done I used a big electric whisk to finish them.We never re-fried them.I don't know what they do now but these are better.I love the addition of cumin to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesbitt929

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I have made this recipe about half a dozen times. So delicious, easy, and nutritious. I have used it in burritos, or as a side with eggs in the morning, or as a dip with chips as an appi. Freezing them as burritos with cheese has been a delicious emergency lunch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love these beans. Makes burritos or any mexican food night that much more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Next time I will add less salt. I should have read the reviews. Other than that they were so good. I like the idea of adding different ingredients to change up the flavor from time to time. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Delicious!! I am never buying canned again!!! So easy and it has a tiny little kick at the end. PERFECT! I totally skipped the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Loved this! I did take recommendations from other reviewers. I used tomato paste, and chicken broth in place of water, and just because I love it, I threw in a chipotle pepper. I can't help but echo, I'll never buy a can of sauce again! Ty ** I like to add a couple drops of liquid smoke as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States