Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very salty and peppery! I like the cumin and jalapenos, but 2 tsp salt & 1 tsp pepper was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
For the most part, I followed the recipe to the T. The only thing I did was cut the salt in half according to every user who gave a review on this recipe. I still found it to be a tad bit salty. Also, instead of mashing the beans I threw it in the blender. Awesome healthier alternative to refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Love these beans!!!! I'd give the original recipe 4.5 stars if I could. Great flavor for not being refried. The only suggestion I'd make is go easy on the salt and black pepper! The first time I followed the recipe as is...way too much salt and pepper!! Now I use chicken broth instead of water and salt/pepper to taste. These freeze great, too! I've even boiled them on the stove for at least 5 hours without soaking them first and they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Family loved these beans. Super easy to make. I was concerned about the amount of liquid and getting the correct consistency so I removed a lot of the liquid after the cooking time was up and added it back in as needed. The second time i made them I also cut down on the salt and no one seemed to notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These were very good. I used black beans since it was all I had. Like many other reviewers, I won't buy canned refried beans any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I love salt but this was a little too salty. I would cut the salt. Added green chilies. (I had some fire roasted diced hatch green chilies. Yum. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Not bad. From the look of this recipe, I knew right away it was too salty for me. Here's what I did separately: I halved the salt. I only had a 16 bean soup mix at hand so I used that instead of pinto beans (turned out great anyways). I used one whole jalapeno pepper and I also added some chili powder. At the 6 hour mark, my beans were already nicely cooked but there was still a ton of water/soup left over. I decided to drain the beans and mash it with half of the "soup" and then I poured it into a large ramekin, and baked it uncovered for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. The resulting beans tasted a lot more flavorful after baking. Next time, I will decrease the added water a bit and will probably add more jalapenos since I love the jalapeno flavor; however, I will definitely continue using the mixed bean variety and will also keep baking it at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wonderful! I will never be satisfied with canned refried beans again. Since I was short on time I used canned beans in a pot on the stove. Also, I used a bell pepper instead. Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
awesome!! Cant believe making beans could be so simple! Rinsing them and sticking them in the slow cooker on low over night was awesome! Flavor was fantastic and the fantastic thing is you can change them to suit any flavor. I will never buy another can of beans. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
SALTY! I almost threw out the first batch because we couldn't eat it, but I'm cheap and decided to make a second batch without salt and mix the two. I haven't tried it yet but my DH said it was great and to keep the recipe. Next time, I'll cut the salt down to 2 teaspoons. Tonight: beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States