Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe is so good and so easy. My family loves this recipe for refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My husband and I really liked this recipe and he normally doesn't like beans AT ALL! I did omit the jalepeno - the hubby doesn't like it in anything, and I doubt our almost 2 year old would like it. I thought the recipe called for too much ground pepper so I only used 1 tsp and I still thought it was wayyyyyyyyy to peppery for my taste. I'm only going to use 1/2 tsp next time around. Remove some of the broth and use a hand immersion blender until your desired consistency. I've used that method for years. I have always made beans on the stove, but wanted to try the crockpot so when I came across this recipe, thought I'd change my normal recipe too. I'm gonna stick with this version. I never got any complaints about my old recipe, but I like this one (minus the extra pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These were great! Thanks to all the helpful reviews I learned to cut back on the salt, so I used some chicken bouillon cubes instead of plain salt. Instead of manually mashing the cooked beans, I put them in the Kitchen Aid mixer with the whisk attachment (and a little lard), and they turned out good and creamy. I don't think my family believed that I actually cooked them.!! I was told multiple times that they were 'restaurant quality'. This recipe goes in the keeper file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Good but needs at whole teaspoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
It takes hours to make the refried beans (Mexican way), and the beans doesn't come out; well; like beans. This recipe is easy and the beans is very flavorful. My hubby loves this recipe, no more making bean the traditional way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
The first time I made this was a disaster. The beans were still hard after 8 hours and I had big chunks of onion. The second time I soaked the beans for a few hours and sliced the onions. Turned out wonderful! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I doubled the recipe for a party. After it was cooked, I strained the liquid off into another pot and then mashed the beans in the crock, adding the captured bean water as I went. Two things I would've done differently are: cut down the salt and add a lot more liquid than I thought I needed because the warm setting on my crock pot really dried up the beans. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Nobody in my house would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I live at a high altitude (a bit over 7,000 ft.) but the beans were still done after 8 hours, which is awesome. I didn't use jalapeno, which I think I will next time as these were bland. Also WAY too salty, probably 3 teaspoons (or less) is enough, especially if you are eating it with cheese, as that adds salt anyway. I doubled the cumin (in another recipe I have it calls for 2 tsp. with this many beans).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Super easy and delish. Tastes like the beans my mom made. BUT next time I'm cutting the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,530) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States