Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made these for my family and it definitely is a great recipe. The only thing I had to look out for is the difference in slow-cookers. My slow-cooker's temp was so high that the beans cooked in 4.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These are even better with Peruvian beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Soooooooooo delicious and easy!!! Can't wait to make it again! Kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Trying to be more healthy, but frugal, I purchased several types of dried beans. I didn't know what to do with pinto. I found this recipe and tried it. Like other reviewers, I cut down the salt and used half black beans and half pinto. They were not bad, but not "to die for" either. For the cheapness of beans, I will make again, but will keep experimenting for more flavor. The leftovers, I chose to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
One of the baby's favorite things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Cundiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Perfect recipe for refried beans. Serve them with lettuce, tomato, guacamole, sour cream and fresh salsa on top and it is a wonderfully healthy ( and very cheap) meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Everyone seemed to really like this. I used canned green chiles, added more cumin to taste, and altered the recipe for the stovetop using canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Subbed chicken stock for water. Used a can of green chiles in place of jalapeño. Need to eliminate salt altogether if using stock! Ran beans through food processor which made them creamy & delicious. Served with Cojita cheese sprinkled on top. Big hit at my carne Asada party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because of the excessive salt. Thank goodness I read the reviews before I made it for the first time, and cut the salt in half. I also took the advice of adding salt after the beans have cooked. I used chicken stock in place of some of the water, for a little flavor boost, but it's still great with just water. Thanks for the healthy and delicious alternative to canned beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Canned beans aren't gonna cut it after making these. After trying a few different ways I found a few changes made a big difference. I add a can of whole tomatoes, 3 chicken bullion cubes and cut the pepper back a half of a teaspoon only using 1 and 1/4 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilylynne1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States