Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Delicious! I cut the salt to 2 1/2 tsp. and added a can of green chillies in place of the jalepenos. It turned out great! I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Loved it! It smelled soooo good after a few hours in the slow cooker. I like things spicy, so I used a whole jalapeno, 1/2t cumin, 2t pepper, and a few dashes of Chipotle Tabasco. Also, I only used half the salt (plenty), and added two packets of low sodium chicken bouillion. Perfection! Frozen leftovers reheated well but needed a little extra water. I saved the leftover bean cooking liquid to try out as a base for taco soup. Yum! *Update - makes great soup simmered with tomatoes, jalapenos, chili beans, corn, rice, celery, onion, carrot, garlic, oregano, pepper, lemon juice, and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was the first time I prepared refried beans, and my husbands needs to be on a low-fat diet. The beans were delicious, and I can't wait to make them again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Try using a hand blender to "mash" the beans while in the broth..you can ladel off some of the broth first if your concerned..you can use it to reheat/thin the bean another day. Freeze refried beans with the extra broth on top in a jar. Good way to have fast refried beans later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe is the best! Anything I can do in my slow cooker (which I've had since 1980!)makes my day, or actually my night since I have the habit of throwing things in and letting them cook overnight. Call me wierd, but waking up to the smell of a pot of beans starts my day off right! (I also highly recommend the Slow cooker pozole recipe from this site.. it's fabulous!) I cut the recipe down to 5 servings but used chicken broth instead of water (and omitted the salt in the recipe), a whole jalepeno (seeded and membrane removed),a nice big clove of garlic minced fine and a Tbsp of EVOO. The only other addition that I made that I haven't seen others mention was to add a packet of Goya Sazon. It didn't make sense to me to loose all the great flavor in the broth (which at that point just covered the beans), so I did not drain the beans, but mashed them with the liquid and then simmered, stiring almost constantly, until they were the consistency of gravey or loose mashed potatoes.They will firm up a little more as they cool down. Beans rule! Thanks for a recipe that calls for whole ingredients instead of the sodium packed canned goods many recipes use. Flavor and nutrition CAN co-exist in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very easy and tasty! Next time I think we'll add a bit more of the jalapeno. Thanks for the recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We've made this recipe a few times, and absolutely loved it. It's easy and cheap and makes a ton. My kids say that it's better than the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I too didn't mash these and served them as a side to tacos. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
YUMMY YUMMY! This was so simple,so easy and so good. Followed some ones review on the use of chicken broth. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Amazing! These beans reminded me of the beans served at a restaurant I dearly miss back in my hometown. I substituted 2 of the cups of water for a can of chicken broth. After the 8 hours of cooking, there wasn't much need to mash them so I did not. There was a satisfying mixture of naturally 'mashed' beans and whole beans. I froze the leftovers in small sized storage containers and pulled them out for easy lunches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States