Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Excellent. Life saver. Thank you! My Mom forgot that she was going to make the beans for my Mexican "Fiasco" and I ran to my local pantry and picked up the pinto beans.....threw these in the crock pot 10 p.m., the next morning....mmmmm smelled so good. I used 1 cup of the reserved liquid, stuck them in the kitchen aid to "mash" them and they were perfect. Got many compliments on this very easy recipe! Thanks CHEFCLAUDE!!!!! Your my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This came out perfect. Very easy to make. I had to add more water for the first few hours until it boiled down some. My husband suggested more seasoning, maybe chili powder but that's the beauty of this dish: you can spice it up as you like. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I didnt mash these up as the recipe instructed, I decided to keep them as frijoles de la hoya. The taste was very authentic and traditional without all the work of having to keep on eye of the pot of beans. It was much easier to make them in the slow cooker. I cooked them overnight and the beans were very tender. I made huevos rancheros for breakfast and served the beans as a side dish topping them with cotija cheese. My hubby gobbled them up with tortillas and salsa ranchera. Awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very good. I left mine in for about 9 hours and mashing them was a snap. The flavor was just right; actually we found it to be very close to the canned variety (which we like). But we fried the leftovers with a little olive oil the next day and they were amazing! If you have the time, definitely give that route a try because it's twice as good. Also, this makes a lot, as most slow cooker recipes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Finally! I've been searching and trying lots of refied beans recipes and yet they were all okay, this one is awesome! I highly recommend this one to people who have kids that might be used to the beans in the can because these taste very similar. Next time I might experiment w/ a little less salt, as it seemed pretty salty. But very edible non the less. Thank you for submitting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Loved it! I also added some chili powder. Didn't add the peppers. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Amazing! Made a few changes though...instead of smashing the beans I just kept it as a soup and added pork. The first time my husband said it was better than his mothers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Jalapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Orab, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
These went great with our carne asada tacos. Lots of compliments. Thanks for the great recipe, I almost gave up on getting the flavors right with dry pinto beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
WONDERFUL Flavor! I added 3 strips of lightly fried bacon during the simmering process, and removed them when the beans were done. I also substituted 1/2 cup milk, plus the 1/2 cup broth. Tasted so authentic... just like traditional Mexican home-cooked beans should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I make refried beans all the time and I thought I had my recipe down, but I have to say that though more simple with less ingredients than my own, these beans are THE BEST! The only change I made was I used chicken broth instead of water, which I believe made for richer and yummier tasting beans. Because of the chicken broth, I also reduced the amount of salt. This is how I will make my beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
941 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States