Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My friend made this recipe and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Amazing!!!! Will never buy can beans again. My daughter loves them and she doesn't like beans. Did as others suggested 3 tsp of salt and 4 cups chicken broth and 5 cups water. Thank you for a great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
SO good! I use this recipe to make cheesy rice and bean burritos, but it's just as tasty eaten on its own as a side dish. My changes: I mince the onion instead of halving it so I'm not left with large parts of onion in the end result. I only use 2 tsp of salt. I omit the jalapenos. And 1/4 tsp of cumin is absolutely necessary to keep it from being bland! I've found that 6-7 hours is enough time for the beans to cook. I like them to be the same consistency as mashed potatoes, so I don't add any of the drained bean broth back into the mashed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
3 cups of dried beans makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe for 10 servings. I so wish I had made it for the default 15 so I could have more leftovers. As others have stated I substituted 1/2 of the water for chicken stock. We used them on tostadas and the beans got rave reviews from my family of hungry eaters. I usually eat much later than my family does and adding the cooking liquid as the refried beans cook down only made them more flavorful. I will never buy canned beans again! This recipe was so good that I finally decided to write a review even though I have subscribed to this website for many years and have found many other excellent recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Excellent results with minimal effort! I reduced the salt to about 3 teaspoons, and I added a whole, de-seeded jalapeno. I used the food processor to mash the beans, which made it even easier. I did add about 2-3 teaspoons of safflower oil when I was mashing because I prefer low-fat to fat-free. I froze half of the beans in a quart-sized Mason jar and served the other half in bean burritos. (I also froze the leftover "bean broth" to use as a soup base or to cook rice.) They were very good, but I have to say that the beans tasted best the second day (they didn't make it to a third day...) because sitting in the fridge overnight allowed the spices to stand out more. Next time, I think I will add some more cumin and another jalapeno. Even though I added a whole red jalapeno, I couldn't taste any heat at all. I will definitely make this again! My boyfriend is already requesting a second batch with a reserved jar for him to freeze, since he doesn't have a slowcooker of his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I make this often, its so easy and delicious while being wholesome and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I have made this many times. It's easy and economical, and leaves plenty of leftovers. I always think I'll freeze them but then they end up getting eaten. The only change I make is to add a full tsp of cumin, oh and I also decrease the salt to 3 tsp. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This is delicious! I double the recipe and used 5 cups of chicken broth (all I had) and the rest water and filled the crock until it was about 1" from the top. Then I just stirred occasionally throughout the day. I left out the jalapeno and used garlic powder instead of minced garlic. When the beans were done, I put them in my food processor with only a little of the juice until I reached desired consistency and also added in a little sour cream which really seemed to set it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
So easy, so good!! My husband even LOVES them! I I used black beans first couple batches. Tasted great even with jalapeno out of jar. I used about 4T himilayan salt - 5 would have been too much I think & I am a big salter. Made a batch and froze in 2 cup portions - won't be buying refried beans anymore! No cheaper or better way to have organic "refried" beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Livingood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States