Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Been looking for a refried bean recipe for a long time. Love this one. Used 3 1/2 tsp. salt and it was perfect. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph Fimbres Jr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This recipe was really easy and I enjoyed it because I could control the salt, which I reduced. It's nice to have an option for low sodium and low fat refritos. I would doctor it up with additional seasonings next time, as I eliminated the jalapenos because I was cooking for small children. As such, it was a bit on the bland side, but still tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Gotta give 5 stars! These are truly fantastic and couldn't be any more simple! When the beans were done and supper was almost ready we decided to try them with a couple of tortilla chips while other stuff was finishing up - we could hardly stop eating them so that I could serve them for supper!! DH loves refried beans but I've only ever served canned. He was thrilled. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! Oh - a tip: I started a little short on time, so to jumpstart things a little I followed part of the "quick soak" instructions on the bean package (which is to boil the beans for 2 minutes...). I pre measured the water to boil them in according to what I would need for this recipe, boiled for the 2 mins, then put everything into the hot crock pot. They were done in about 5.5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I have used this recipe many times in the last few years and it is great! The only change I make is to skip the jalapeno, sometimes I used some green chilies instead; either way it is a very tasty, easy dish to make. Family loves it. Can't even compare it to the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Fantastic base recipe for pinto or black beans - very tasty as is, and amenable to variation for taste. My family doesn't like heat, so I subbed in green chilies for the jalapeño to get some of the flavor without the kick. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Made this a number of times and just use salt for seasoning, once done a quick whip in the nutribullet and use half/freeze half. Cheaper, healthier and much, much tastier than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Awesome. This is the only way to make refried beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Still cooking in the slow cooker... After reading reviews, I'm thinking it may be too salty.. Thinking of adding a peeled potatoes to absorb the excess salt... And maybe a T. Of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I will never have a can of nasty canned refried beans in my cabinet again, These were incredibly easy and wow they are tasty. I followed some of the suggestions and cut the salt to 2 tsp and used 2 cups of chicken broth + 2 cups of water. Only needed to add another cup of water to the crock. I used my stick blender to mash them to perfect creamy consistency with some small chunkies of bean pieces. I used a split of 50/50 red beans and pintos because that's what I use for my chili recipes. Made pork carnita tacos to go with them and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I have been making all my beans in a slow cooker for years. I increase the ingredients some, add chili powder, and replace the water with beef stock I also use my hand-held mixer rather than a potato masher. Its quicker and easier. If you add a little cooked ground beef or turkey after mashing them and increase the liquid, you have an excellent burrito filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States