Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
These are the most amazing "refried" beans we have ever eaten!! My bean hating husband loved them, and my refried bean obsessed son gave them double thumbs up as well (and he's PICKY!!). I omitted the jalapeño and the onion (because I didn't have any onions on hand). I will never buy canned refried beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
When the beans cook, they smell great and about drive me nuts. Having them right out of the pot is wonderful. I put these low fat 'refried' beans and lower fat Mexican cheese into burritos, freeze them and have for a late (or two lazy to cook) dinner. Add some salsa and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Wonderful flavor. Will probably use a hand blender for a smoother texture if I prepare it for guest, but the potato masher worked just fine for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
For the record I'm a salt lover (I know it's horrible for me) but this recipe is salt overkill! It was gross!! I will try it again but I will only add two teaspoons of salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I've used this recipe several times now and it has become the standard way that I cook beans. I recommend only using 3 teaspoons of salt, then adding additional salt, to taste. I also add 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil. The beans will be awesome, either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Easy and yumm! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine Wood

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
The most simple re-fried beans recipe I have used. Tasty ingredients we'd have in the house. It will be a fabulous base for bean with bacon soup too! COMFORT food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I added 1 T onion powder and 1T mexi seasoning blend. Increased batch to 4 cups beans (20 svgs) and 12c water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emozz
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I made it in a burrito and it was delicious. Instead of the salt I put roasted garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Been looking for a refried bean recipe for a long time. Love this one. Used 3 1/2 tsp. salt and it was perfect. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States