Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Still cooking in the slow cooker... After reading reviews, I'm thinking it may be too salty.. Thinking of adding a peeled potatoes to absorb the excess salt... And maybe a T. Of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I will never have a can of nasty canned refried beans in my cabinet again, These were incredibly easy and wow they are tasty. I followed some of the suggestions and cut the salt to 2 tsp and used 2 cups of chicken broth + 2 cups of water. Only needed to add another cup of water to the crock. I used my stick blender to mash them to perfect creamy consistency with some small chunkies of bean pieces. I used a split of 50/50 red beans and pintos because that's what I use for my chili recipes. Made pork carnita tacos to go with them and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I have been making all my beans in a slow cooker for years. I increase the ingredients some, add chili powder, and replace the water with beef stock I also use my hand-held mixer rather than a potato masher. Its quicker and easier. If you add a little cooked ground beef or turkey after mashing them and increase the liquid, you have an excellent burrito filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I love refried beans this was very good and the spices i use very little and used no salt add sausage and cheese very good i even had a lot to share with my sister and next time freeze for another meal thank u they were absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
These were absolutely awesome. I will not buy refried beans again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRYS7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
Love this recipe! I don't put the salt in until the end and. After I get it to the consistency I want, I add a couple of cups of shredded mild cheddar! Delish! Thank you Chef Claude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
We went ahead and soaked the beans overnight in cold water, then cleaned and rinsed the next morning. Never have done dried beans any other way, so?? But followed recipe almost exact: Naturally cut way back on Salt*!* Didn't have fresh Jalapenos, but had one big can of sliced jalapenos, so used some of those, instead. Added a pinch of sugar, per one reviewer, since salt/sugar do go together to bring up flavors. Can't wait to try this w/homemade chicken stock from Jill's recipe! &/or the Roasted Chk Stock from Chef John (both video's) Loved mashing them by hand. ENJOY*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is much healthier. I am wondering if a large batch can be made and then frozen in serving sizes. Anyone know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Easy, delicious, and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Camp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Delicious! I will never buy canned refried beans again! The only issue I had though was based on other reviews I cut the salt back to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I found that it needed more salt and I normally don't salt my food. Next time I will try 2 1/2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States