Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I haven't eaten refried beans in years simply because of the lard, even though I really like them. I was amazed at how much these taste like the lard-loaded traditional beans, with none of the "bad". Really, really good recipe, thank you so much ChefClaude!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I've made homemade beans for years. When I saw this I had to try it. I followed the recipe as written with two changes: one less teaspoon of salt and I added 3 slices of raw bacon. It turned out delicious. Bacon was always a necessary ingredient when I made beans just like my grandma did. I know this recipe is supposed to be low fat but if that is not of concern to you then add the bacon. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Never had a lot of luck making beans until this recipe. It's just right for our taste. I make a pot and then freeze in serving sizes with juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Excellent recipe for non re fried beans. My son and I have this at least every other week. Just pop the leftovers either in the freezer or fridge, and cook em up em later.. The only tweak is mixing a cup of black beans with two cups pinto beans, and of course not to add the salt. There is plenty of flavor with the ingredients already. You can always season to taste after their cooked. 5 teaspoons of salt is waaay to much for anyone watching their sodium intake. this is definetly my go to side dish after a long day at work. Thanks Chef Claude!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe was so incredibly easy. I love the crock pot method so much more than other methods I have tried (stove top). The beans came out so deliciously tasty! I thought I would make a whole batch and freeze leftovers... but there were not any!! Will definitely again. Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I didn't have any because I was in the middle of a strict diet but I literally had to stop my kids from fighting over them! That's a hit in my book! My (very thin and very active) daughter ate 9 of them when she came home from school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a staple recipe in my house. We eat the beans and "sauce" before I mash them. I've made this with all black beans, half and half, any combination comes out perfect. I've subbed fresh ingredients for jarred salsa, sometimes I use chicken broth, once I used vegetable broth on accident, wouldn't repeat intentionally, but you just can't go wrong. It freezes well, too. I tend to use less cheese when I make dip, and plain Greek yogurt is a healthier alternative to sour cream, and once it's mixed in you won't know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Okay this is it. The only recipe i will ever use again to make my refried beans. Soooo much better than canned beans, very inexpensive and so good. Taste like restaurant quality. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Better than the ones at my favorite Mexican place. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used 3 cups of black beans instead and my kids kept coming back for more. I will never buy a can of refried beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States