Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I was eating at a restaurant down south once and they served up a small bowl of refried black beans along side my breakfast. It was delicious. So I was searching for a recipe to try. I saw this one made with pintos and decided to try it using all black beans instead. It. Is. Delicious. I cut back the salt to 3 tsp and I used an Epicure chili garlic sea salt. I added the optional cumin as well. The jalapeños give this dish just a little bit of kick and all of the ingredients together taste wonderful. The best thing about this is its a great way to get healthy slow carbs into your diet. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
this was easy and delicious. i cooked the beans all day on my wood stove. they tasted great and made the whole house smell good. this is my favorite. im making them today for the second time, to go with home made tamales. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmen valentine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchor Point, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
What a great recipe! I followed the advise of several other reviewers and (a) reduced the salt to 1 tsp and (b) included 6 strips of bacon. I was able to reduce the prep time to 1 hr. 15 mins. by cooking the dry beans in a 12psi pressure cooker for 1 hour. While the beans were cooking I fried the bacon then cooked the onions, jalapeno, and garlic in the bacon fat. I blended all the pan ingredients and added them to the cooked/drained beans for mashing. Definitely not as healthy with the bacon but, my gosh, they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I have made this 2x now and each time has been great. Refried beans in the can are not available where I live and this recipe is a prefect replacement. I made them in the pressure cooked since I don't have a slow cooker. Be sure to soak the beans overnight to reduce cooking time. I cook on low-medium for an hour+ (my cooker is too small,too full to give the full whistles). Following suggestions from other reviews: I cooked in chicken stock (homemade from a recipe on this site) and I added some kidney beans. I used hot green chilli instead since I have this on hand and enjoy the heat! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This recipe is so great. So healthy, delicious, better than normal refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
These beans are wonderful. For those who are worried about the jalapeno making them spicy, it doesn't. If you remove the seeds, none of the heat from the jalapeno comes through, just great flavor. I make these all the time for my family (including small children) using 3 seeded jalapenos and they are not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
AMAZING! A huge hit with the family! I did add a little milk to make them creamier (thanks to a previous review). Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Very Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redroni63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
First effort came out sooo delicious!!I didn't salt until it was done because we eat a low sodium diet and didn't want it to be too salty. I used chicken broth as was recommended by others and also used whole jalepeno. I thought using the whole jalepeno might be too hot but it wasn't at all and since we like a little heat next time I will use 2 or 3. Just as a reference we like a "medium" heat salsa and this was definitely mild with the 1 pepper. I also used my hand held immersion blender and mixed to our desired texture. I won't be buying canned ever again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Absolutely loved this recipe. We eat a lot of beans in our musical household. Make sure you continue to add water throughout the day to keep the beanies moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States