Refried Beans Without the Refry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
As advertised! I'm surprised by this recipe. Thank goodness we followed advice and used only 2 tsp salt instead of 5. It is every bit as good as store-bought and is better for us. Plus there's much potential for experimentation by adding more/less spice, jalapenos, vegetables, cheese... We reduced the salt but increased the cumin to 1/2 tsp. We stuck with 1/2 of one jalapeno. It had a tiny zing to it but our 7-month-old baby ate it without pause. We also drained the water but left the onion in and pureed it. We'll be adding this to our regular rotation. No more canned refried beans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe with the only change being half water and half chicken stock. It was very salty. It could be because we don't eat a lot of salt in our house. Next time I will cut down the salt to 2 1/2 teaspoons. Otherwise they were great! Wonderful flavor and consistency. We will freeze some for next time. I may never buy canned beans again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNJWAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
made two batches for a crowd - tasted great - lots of great comments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Was looking for a way to get the refried flavor without having to cook it the way my mom taught me. Found this recipe and absolutely love it! So much flavor that I could it the beans alone. Will definitely be adding this to my recipe book and share with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Great recipe. I made this for a family dinner. The beans were so delicious, I decided not to mash them. The family raved over them. I made this recipe several times since. I did also reduce the salt like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
My favorite! Definitely use veggie broth, or beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Great! I don't buy canned anymore. I make a good-sized batch and freeze portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Amazing! I love refried beans but I don't often buy the cans because frankly - it looks like something Fido would eat. These were delicious and creamy. I did tone down the salt a bit and reduced the amounts for our small family and I used 1/2 water and 1/2 homemade beef broth. Definitely worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This recipe is amazing and simple. My apartment smelled so good that I had to serve a bowl of beans at 6 1/2 hours and they taste perfectly tender. I still leave them in until 8 hrs because they mash wonderfully at that point. I've doubled the recipe using half black bean half pinto and they mash soo creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States