Refreshing Tomato Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I like the garden fresh ingredients to this salad, but, it was just a little bland to us. I used a good quality dressing with it, but, I think I would prefer a homeade vinaigrette with a nice tang from vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Chriss Siembida
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very quick, easy and tasty. I used garden fresh tomatoes and cucumbers from a local growers vegetable stand. I'm sure the quality of the veggies made a difference but this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss Siembida

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
A tasty, quick fresh summer salad. I substituted Balsamic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing & left out the parmesan cheese. A quick and refreshing side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I usually make this with vinegar instead of Italian dressing, and a little bit of sugar. My grandkids call this Bob & Larry salad (Veggie tales). I don't use cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I added a bit more grated Parmesan. I also added fine ground sea salt. This recipe is primo .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jornie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was a very good recipe! I left out the onions since my hubby & I don't really like raw onion. Couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Haven't tried the recipe, but my family has been making this for years. We add blue cheese crumbles to the salad, gives the salad a bold taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
It's ok, but I prefer tomatoes, cucumbers, and plain old lemon pepper-let it sit for about twenty minutes, drain and mmmmm yummy, definatly not bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I agree with other raters: This is a 4-star recipe, which can easily be elevated to a 5-star recipe depending on choice of ingredients and preparation. It is very simple and quick. I prefer to substitute 1 small finely chooped Vidalia or Peru sweet onion (1/2 cup up to 3/4 cup) and to substitute balsamic vinaigrette for Italian salad dressing. Be sure to drain as much water as possible from the vegetables/fruits before tossing with vinaigrette and cheese. After thoroughly tossing salad, let salad stand 10 minutes then drain excess liquid before serving or storing in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States