Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! I had almost all the ingredients, but not the right AMOUNTS, but it still worked out delicous. My package of Feta was only 6 oz., and my pine nut pkg. was only 2.5 oz. AND I was out of olives, so omitted them. That being said... you can make this recipe a little cheaper and still be a 5 star! Light enough for summer heat eating and hearty enough for an entree AND nice enough for company! Thanks Prell2k for a wonderful recipe and Tizzylizz for suggesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Yummy, I loved this salad. it was a hit at yesterday's foruth of July celebartion. very easy to make. the only change i made was i had to use regular feta as my local store did not have the flavored. Yumm. thanks Prell for a great salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was delicious! A welcomed change from the regular ol' pasta salad. I used fresh basil and thyme and added them in with the spinach for fresher flavor. Another reviewer suggested dry roasting the pine nuts...next time I'll do that as well...to brown them up a little better and prevent my garlic from browning. I didn't have kalamata olives so I used black olives and I did add chopped artichoke hearts and grape tomatoes for color. BUT this recipe on it's own deserves 5 stars. Thank you for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband said to retire the old pasta salad recipe. This had lots of flavor, as I followed the suggestion to let it sit for a day before eating. I added caramelized onions and I swapped pine nuts for pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Crazy delicous!! Just served this to a party of 8 and had plenty of leftovers. Definately will make this again. Truly scrumptious and perfect for a summertime party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Oh, wow. This is SO GOOD! Excellent combination of flavors and textures. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and fresh herbs (I added the basil with the spinach rather than sauteing it), and olive oil instead of butter. I'll dry-toast the nuts next time--they seemed a little soggy from toasting in the oil, and my garlic started to burn. Still, absolutely delicious--a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe is so full of flavor! My husband and everyone at work raved over it. I did not use pine nuts (didnt have any) and they were not missed. An excellent salad with vibrant mediterranean flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Okay, made this this afternoon, made myself not eat it for lunch, and had it with sanzoe's Caramelized Garlic Chicken....very good together! :) I followed the recipe exactly, but for guessing a bit on the capers(cus I only have a huge jar ;), and I didn't have basil feta, so I used plain, I didn't chop my spinach and I used fresh herbs, cus I had them. None of the changes were significant enough to change the taste or texture of the dish, so I still feel fair in rating it high. :) Those herbs cooking with the pine nuts, garlic, pepper and oil smelled SOO good! :) So, this is a very original recipe, and I'm so glad to have tried it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Delicious light salad. Perfect for summer gathering or anytime. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great just like it is, or add thinly sliced red onion, thanks for a refreshing change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States