Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Turned out excellent! I added an additional teaspoon of chopped garlic, substituted goat cheese instead of the feta, and added halved cherry tomatoes for color and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great, I was able to make it ahead for company so that dinner was easy. The flavors are just great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This dish is always a hit wherever I bring it. Even though I love kalamata olives, they tend to take over. I like all of the subtle flavors so I usually don't put the olives in. Sometimes I put the olives on the side. My whole family loves this pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Absolutely LOVED THIS! I did not cook my orzo in chicken broth nor did I add the butter to it after, just rinsed. I only had regular (light) feta so used that & decided not to use the juice from the capers but did add more fresh lemon juice to compensate. Made this to go along with Feta Cheese Turkey Burgers/Spicy Turkey Burgers from this site for our youngest son's 2nd birthday with our families. SO GOOD...will certainly make this one again, hubby proclaimed as his new fave orzo salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Delicious! I'm not a huge fan of feta and added only 6 oz. instead of 12 and it was perfect. I didn't change a thing. After 3 days, I swear, it is getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My husband enjoyed this more than I did. I followed the directions except using veggie stock. I do not enjoy olives so I put them separate so my husband could add them to his own dish. This was the first time I tried capers and unfortunately I did not like them. I recommend to all others trying them for the first time to try before you add the liquid to the dish. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts to reduce the cost. The spices added much flavor to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
What a refreshing salad!I too omitted the capers (personal preference) and used plain feta. I didn't toss the orzo with butter after I cooked it and had no problems with it sticking. Per other reviewers suggestions, I dry toasted the pine nuts. Be careful when preparing the garlic. Mine burned the first time, good thing I had extra! I prepared mine early in the morning and served it later in the day. I did have to add a very small amount of additional olive oil (about a tbs) because the pasta seemed to have soaked it up (maybe because I omitted the butter?) The flavors and texture were absolutely delicious! I might try fresh herbs next time. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good, but I didn't have enough feta, unfortunately. I did use some parmesan to fill in the gaps, but I think feta would have been best. I also didn't put in the spinach because my pan wouldn't fit it. Finally, I added roasted red peppers and it looked (and tasted) great! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I omitted the capers and pine nuts and used only 6 ounces feta. I found that 4 cups of broth was not enough and the orzo was drying out before it was done so i added a little water and it was fine. (i may have been cooking it too hot) Served with greek chicken from this site. This orzo is very flavorful and quite yummy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent! I blanched the spinach, but otherwise kept to the recipe - everyone enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States