Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
During the summer, I always opt for using fresh herbs in recipes. Wonderful salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This recipe is easily "dumbed down". I decided to make it for an elementary school potluck picnic. I took out the olives, capers & pinenuts. It was still quite tasty and more "user friendly" for an unpredictable crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was an excellent, refreshing side dish! Made this salad to go with salmon and a tossed green salad. Skipped the pine nuts and the olives, since I didn't have them and don't care for them. I used the juice of one whole lemon and used only 6 oz. of feta (12 oz. seemed a bit much). Also, I used 3 oz. of capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was wonderful! I added a bit of olive oil since I let it sit for so long. Everyone love this, even the kids! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. I added 3 oz of capers and only 1/2 cup of olives as I am not a huge olive fan. I also substituted arugula for spinach as I had it on hand. I only used 8 oz of the feta, and it started as a block of cheese so I crumbled it as finely as possible. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Woah, skip the chicken broth idea. First of all, 4 cups of liquid is no where near enough to cook 1lb of orzo, and 2nd with all the other salty stuff, it's salt overload. Maybe dilute the broth with 4qts of water. Other than that, though, this is a tasty light healthy thing to eat, and I recommend it. I bet its even better with the capers and pine nuts, which my grocery store didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Turned out excellent! I added an additional teaspoon of chopped garlic, substituted goat cheese instead of the feta, and added halved cherry tomatoes for color and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great, I was able to make it ahead for company so that dinner was easy. The flavors are just great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This dish is always a hit wherever I bring it. Even though I love kalamata olives, they tend to take over. I like all of the subtle flavors so I usually don't put the olives in. Sometimes I put the olives on the side. My whole family loves this pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Absolutely LOVED THIS! I did not cook my orzo in chicken broth nor did I add the butter to it after, just rinsed. I only had regular (light) feta so used that & decided not to use the juice from the capers but did add more fresh lemon juice to compensate. Made this to go along with Feta Cheese Turkey Burgers/Spicy Turkey Burgers from this site for our youngest son's 2nd birthday with our families. SO GOOD...will certainly make this one again, hubby proclaimed as his new fave orzo salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States