Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was an excellent, refreshing side dish! Made this salad to go with salmon and a tossed green salad. Skipped the pine nuts and the olives, since I didn't have them and don't care for them. I used the juice of one whole lemon and used only 6 oz. of feta (12 oz. seemed a bit much). Also, I used 3 oz. of capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This was wonderful! I added a bit of olive oil since I let it sit for so long. Everyone love this, even the kids! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I absolutely loved this recipe. I added 3 oz of capers and only 1/2 cup of olives as I am not a huge olive fan. I also substituted arugula for spinach as I had it on hand. I only used 8 oz of the feta, and it started as a block of cheese so I crumbled it as finely as possible. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Woah, skip the chicken broth idea. First of all, 4 cups of liquid is no where near enough to cook 1lb of orzo, and 2nd with all the other salty stuff, it's salt overload. Maybe dilute the broth with 4qts of water. Other than that, though, this is a tasty light healthy thing to eat, and I recommend it. I bet its even better with the capers and pine nuts, which my grocery store didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Turned out excellent! I added an additional teaspoon of chopped garlic, substituted goat cheese instead of the feta, and added halved cherry tomatoes for color and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great, I was able to make it ahead for company so that dinner was easy. The flavors are just great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This dish is always a hit wherever I bring it. Even though I love kalamata olives, they tend to take over. I like all of the subtle flavors so I usually don't put the olives in. Sometimes I put the olives on the side. My whole family loves this pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Absolutely LOVED THIS! I did not cook my orzo in chicken broth nor did I add the butter to it after, just rinsed. I only had regular (light) feta so used that & decided not to use the juice from the capers but did add more fresh lemon juice to compensate. Made this to go along with Feta Cheese Turkey Burgers/Spicy Turkey Burgers from this site for our youngest son's 2nd birthday with our families. SO GOOD...will certainly make this one again, hubby proclaimed as his new fave orzo salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Delicious! I'm not a huge fan of feta and added only 6 oz. instead of 12 and it was perfect. I didn't change a thing. After 3 days, I swear, it is getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My husband enjoyed this more than I did. I followed the directions except using veggie stock. I do not enjoy olives so I put them separate so my husband could add them to his own dish. This was the first time I tried capers and unfortunately I did not like them. I recommend to all others trying them for the first time to try before you add the liquid to the dish. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts to reduce the cost. The spices added much flavor to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States