Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This salad has good flavor. I especially liked the touch of thyme. I used reduced sodium broth but with feta, capers and kalamata olives it was a bit salty. Next time I would omit the broth and cook the orzo in unsalted water. With all the other great flavors I don't think the broth would be missed. I would also omit the butter and just rinse the pasta to eliminate any sticking. I used fresh basil and thyme and added grape tomatoes to cut the salt taste, it was a nice addition. Did a dry toasting on the nuts and drizzled the oil in the salad. Diced chicken would go very well in this salad. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummy!!! This was delicious, and so easy to make. I was just cooking for me, so I halved it, it still made plenty. I skipped the capers and olives because I can't stand them, but next time I make this (and I will be making this a lot!) I will add them. Shared this at lunch with coworkers and they liked it too, thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is really tasty. I also skipped the chicken broth, used fresh herbs, and plain feta. I did add xtra lemon and olive oil, as mine turned out a little bit dry... Can't wait to try it tomorrow! Thanks prell2k4!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Oh, wow. This is SO GOOD! Excellent combination of flavors and textures. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and fresh herbs (I added the basil with the spinach rather than sauteing it), and olive oil instead of butter. I'll dry-toast the nuts next time--they seemed a little soggy from toasting in the oil, and my garlic started to burn. Still, absolutely delicious--a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was delicious! A welcomed change from the regular ol' pasta salad. I used fresh basil and thyme and added them in with the spinach for fresher flavor. Another reviewer suggested dry roasting the pine nuts...next time I'll do that as well...to brown them up a little better and prevent my garlic from browning. I didn't have kalamata olives so I used black olives and I did add chopped artichoke hearts and grape tomatoes for color. BUT this recipe on it's own deserves 5 stars. Thank you for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! I had almost all the ingredients, but not the right AMOUNTS, but it still worked out delicous. My package of Feta was only 6 oz., and my pine nut pkg. was only 2.5 oz. AND I was out of olives, so omitted them. That being said... you can make this recipe a little cheaper and still be a 5 star! Light enough for summer heat eating and hearty enough for an entree AND nice enough for company! Thanks Prell2k for a wonderful recipe and Tizzylizz for suggesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Yummy, I loved this salad. it was a hit at yesterday's foruth of July celebartion. very easy to make. the only change i made was i had to use regular feta as my local store did not have the flavored. Yumm. thanks Prell for a great salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I needed to use up a lot of fresh cilantro, and this recipe was a great template! Omitted the Italian-style spices in this recipe, and used cilantro, EVOO and lemon juice in place. Great summer meal with some grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Scrumptious! Loved this as well as my family. Delicious flavors, loved the fresh spinach, capers and the basil feta. This was a delicious and yes Refreshing salad. Thanks Prell2K4! A winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Turned out excellent! I added an additional teaspoon of chopped garlic, substituted goat cheese instead of the feta, and added halved cherry tomatoes for color and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States