Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This salad has good flavor. I especially liked the touch of thyme. I used reduced sodium broth but with feta, capers and kalamata olives it was a bit salty. Next time I would omit the broth and cook the orzo in unsalted water. With all the other great flavors I don't think the broth would be missed. I would also omit the butter and just rinse the pasta to eliminate any sticking. I used fresh basil and thyme and added grape tomatoes to cut the salt taste, it was a nice addition. Did a dry toasting on the nuts and drizzled the oil in the salad. Diced chicken would go very well in this salad. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is really tasty. I also skipped the chicken broth, used fresh herbs, and plain feta. I did add xtra lemon and olive oil, as mine turned out a little bit dry... Can't wait to try it tomorrow! Thanks prell2k4!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Scrumptious! Loved this as well as my family. Delicious flavors, loved the fresh spinach, capers and the basil feta. This was a delicious and yes Refreshing salad. Thanks Prell2K4! A winner recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Yummy!!! This was delicious, and so easy to make. I was just cooking for me, so I halved it, it still made plenty. I skipped the capers and olives because I can't stand them, but next time I make this (and I will be making this a lot!) I will add them. Shared this at lunch with coworkers and they liked it too, thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I needed to use up a lot of fresh cilantro, and this recipe was a great template! Omitted the Italian-style spices in this recipe, and used cilantro, EVOO and lemon juice in place. Great summer meal with some grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Yummy, I loved this salad. it was a hit at yesterday's foruth of July celebartion. very easy to make. the only change i made was i had to use regular feta as my local store did not have the flavored. Yumm. thanks Prell for a great salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe! I had almost all the ingredients, but not the right AMOUNTS, but it still worked out delicous. My package of Feta was only 6 oz., and my pine nut pkg. was only 2.5 oz. AND I was out of olives, so omitted them. That being said... you can make this recipe a little cheaper and still be a 5 star! Light enough for summer heat eating and hearty enough for an entree AND nice enough for company! Thanks Prell2k for a wonderful recipe and Tizzylizz for suggesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Okay, made this this afternoon, made myself not eat it for lunch, and had it with sanzoe's Caramelized Garlic Chicken....very good together! :) I followed the recipe exactly, but for guessing a bit on the capers(cus I only have a huge jar ;), and I didn't have basil feta, so I used plain, I didn't chop my spinach and I used fresh herbs, cus I had them. None of the changes were significant enough to change the taste or texture of the dish, so I still feel fair in rating it high. :) Those herbs cooking with the pine nuts, garlic, pepper and oil smelled SOO good! :) So, this is a very original recipe, and I'm so glad to have tried it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband said to retire the old pasta salad recipe. This had lots of flavor, as I followed the suggestion to let it sit for a day before eating. I added caramelized onions and I swapped pine nuts for pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Delicious light salad. Perfect for summer gathering or anytime. Makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States