Refreshing Summer Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Delicious! I'm not a huge fan of feta and added only 6 oz. instead of 12 and it was perfect. I didn't change a thing. After 3 days, I swear, it is getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My husband enjoyed this more than I did. I followed the directions except using veggie stock. I do not enjoy olives so I put them separate so my husband could add them to his own dish. This was the first time I tried capers and unfortunately I did not like them. I recommend to all others trying them for the first time to try before you add the liquid to the dish. I substituted walnuts for pine nuts to reduce the cost. The spices added much flavor to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
What a refreshing salad!I too omitted the capers (personal preference) and used plain feta. I didn't toss the orzo with butter after I cooked it and had no problems with it sticking. Per other reviewers suggestions, I dry toasted the pine nuts. Be careful when preparing the garlic. Mine burned the first time, good thing I had extra! I prepared mine early in the morning and served it later in the day. I did have to add a very small amount of additional olive oil (about a tbs) because the pasta seemed to have soaked it up (maybe because I omitted the butter?) The flavors and texture were absolutely delicious! I might try fresh herbs next time. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very good, but I didn't have enough feta, unfortunately. I did use some parmesan to fill in the gaps, but I think feta would have been best. I also didn't put in the spinach because my pan wouldn't fit it. Finally, I added roasted red peppers and it looked (and tasted) great! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I omitted the capers and pine nuts and used only 6 ounces feta. I found that 4 cups of broth was not enough and the orzo was drying out before it was done so i added a little water and it was fine. (i may have been cooking it too hot) Served with greek chicken from this site. This orzo is very flavorful and quite yummy. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Excellent! I blanched the spinach, but otherwise kept to the recipe - everyone enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Don't change a thing! Unless you add some cherry tomatoes. Made this with a lemon marinated lamb chop and roasted beets. Very filling, I cut the recipe in half and it made enough for 6 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Mohojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Crazy delicous!! Just served this to a party of 8 and had plenty of leftovers. Definately will make this again. Truly scrumptious and perfect for a summertime party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was delicious! A welcomed change from the regular ol' pasta salad. I used fresh basil and thyme and added them in with the spinach for fresher flavor. Another reviewer suggested dry roasting the pine nuts...next time I'll do that as well...to brown them up a little better and prevent my garlic from browning. I didn't have kalamata olives so I used black olives and I did add chopped artichoke hearts and grape tomatoes for color. BUT this recipe on it's own deserves 5 stars. Thank you for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Oh, wow. This is SO GOOD! Excellent combination of flavors and textures. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and fresh herbs (I added the basil with the spinach rather than sauteing it), and olive oil instead of butter. I'll dry-toast the nuts next time--they seemed a little soggy from toasting in the oil, and my garlic started to burn. Still, absolutely delicious--a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States