Refreshing Spaghetti Squash and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I'm excited to be this recipe's first reviewer so I can happily report how good this salad is! Light and refreshing, with an interesting and delicious contrast in flavors, colors and textures. Since spaghetti squash can vary so much in size, and since mine was small, I didn't measure the rest of the ingredients for the salad exactly - just tossed them in until I liked the proportions. I also left the peel on the cucumber for added nutrition and color. I loved the lemon in the dressing rather than the heavier and tangier vinegar, but it was too much, even tho' I omitted the zest altogether. In hindsight, I'd still leave out the zest (a tablespoon of lemon zest is a lot!), but reduce the lemon juice by half as well. Because fresh garlic is already included in the dressing, I simply used table salt rather than the garlic salt called for and that worked well for me. This was so good I couldn't stop digging into it right after I made it, while it was still at room temperature, and I found I actually preferred it that way than after it was chilled! In my opinion, making the adjustments with the lemon easily makes this a 5-star recipe. This is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is now a summer must! Things I changed: I sliced the seedless cucumbers into strips for a more uniform look and I used sweet red peppers instead of onions as my boys won't eat raw onions. This is a large recipe and would feed the masses but at my house we ate on this all weekend and it only got better. VERY FRESH AND SUMMERY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was wonderful!!! My two babies could not get enough. We could not find spaghetti squash around here so I improvised with angel hair pasta and a cut up Butternut squash. Also, personal preference, we served it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wasn't sure if this was one I was going to like at first. After reading all the reviews, I decided it was worth a shot...I had all the ingredients except the olives and lemon zest. It was great! I liked it as is...my husbant thought that it was good too, but thought that adding diced apple would encourage the kids to try it. (Spaghetti squash and cucumbers aren't always on the menu, but we were given these items and didn't want them to go to waste.) I would also suggest adding halved grapes would be good. great salad as is in my book. Very healthy and refreshing. Makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe all if you like FETA you need to add it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
this is so good and refreshing. easy. i serve it instead of a lettuce salad. we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I tried this salad out today and it is very tasty! I'm not a fan of olives so I left those out, and I like a lot of lemon and thought it needed more dressing. A very simple and delicious salad, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Was quite surprised. Never thought spagetti squash would be good in a salad, but this was different and tasty. Was still good 4 days later. The only downfall was the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Cooking time for can vary greatly depending on the size of the squash. Excellent recipe, followed it exactly first time. Be careful with amount lemon juice and oil. Might be a little too much for tatses. Optional ingrediant would be some dried figs sliced paper thin. About 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Meh. While the flavor of this salad we found excellent, we felt the need to tweak it by adding balsamic vinegar to kick it up somewhat. What we didn't like about the recipe is the addition of squash. It seemed that someone took a perfectly good Mediterranean salad and just decided to dump in squash they had on hand. In our opinion, squash is much better hot than cold--it gave the salad a weird texture. I'd make this again, omitting squash and instead using spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States