Refreshing Spaghetti Squash and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This seemed like a different and interesting way to prepare spaghetti squash. I served it for company. It was NOT a hit. The flavor was okay but most people did not care for the cold spaghetti squash. I also found it to be too heavy on the lemon flavor. I think adding feta cheese could improve it but overall, I don't think I'll make this again. It was a lot of work and not worth it plus what waste of expensive kalamata olives! You'd be better off making a standard mediterranean salad than making this salad and it really doesn't look very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Meh. While the flavor of this salad we found excellent, we felt the need to tweak it by adding balsamic vinegar to kick it up somewhat. What we didn't like about the recipe is the addition of squash. It seemed that someone took a perfectly good Mediterranean salad and just decided to dump in squash they had on hand. In our opinion, squash is much better hot than cold--it gave the salad a weird texture. I'd make this again, omitting squash and instead using spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Cooking time for can vary greatly depending on the size of the squash. Excellent recipe, followed it exactly first time. Be careful with amount lemon juice and oil. Might be a little too much for tatses. Optional ingrediant would be some dried figs sliced paper thin. About 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Was quite surprised. Never thought spagetti squash would be good in a salad, but this was different and tasty. Was still good 4 days later. The only downfall was the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I tried this salad out today and it is very tasty! I'm not a fan of olives so I left those out, and I like a lot of lemon and thought it needed more dressing. A very simple and delicious salad, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
this is so good and refreshing. easy. i serve it instead of a lettuce salad. we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe all if you like FETA you need to add it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wasn't sure if this was one I was going to like at first. After reading all the reviews, I decided it was worth a shot...I had all the ingredients except the olives and lemon zest. It was great! I liked it as is...my husbant thought that it was good too, but thought that adding diced apple would encourage the kids to try it. (Spaghetti squash and cucumbers aren't always on the menu, but we were given these items and didn't want them to go to waste.) I would also suggest adding halved grapes would be good. great salad as is in my book. Very healthy and refreshing. Makes alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was wonderful!!! My two babies could not get enough. We could not find spaghetti squash around here so I improvised with angel hair pasta and a cut up Butternut squash. Also, personal preference, we served it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is now a summer must! Things I changed: I sliced the seedless cucumbers into strips for a more uniform look and I used sweet red peppers instead of onions as my boys won't eat raw onions. This is a large recipe and would feed the masses but at my house we ate on this all weekend and it only got better. VERY FRESH AND SUMMERY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States