Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is sooooooo good!! My husband loves lemon desserts and received some Limoncello for Christmas, so I made this for him. It was so moist and he kept telling me how good it was. I made the recipe exactly as stated except I used a Bundt pan. I baked it at the same temperature and time that the recipe calls for. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Loved this! The cake was fluffy and moist. The flavor wasn't super strong, but good. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryestherk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
What a lovely, delightful little cake! I was excited to see this recipe, anxious to try it, and very pleased with how it turned out. While plain yogurt is something I never buy, sour cream is something I always have on hand, so I subtstituted that for the yogurt. The batter reminds me of how you'd mix up pancakes, and is very light, airy and fluffy, just like the finished cake. I baked this in two (3-cup capacity) Bundt pans and it was just the perfect amount of batter. The vegetable oil makes it a very moist cake and the glaze soaks in to make it even more so. I was afraid two tablespoons of lemon zest might be overkill but it wasn't at all. I was also a little concerned that the limoncello might make this a little boozy tasting, especially in the glaze, but it wasn't an issue. The combination of the zest, fresh lemon juice and limoncello makes this one refreshingly lemony cake. Delicious on its own, and even better with berries or fresh whipped cream - followed by a little sip or two of ice cold limoncello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved this cake!!!! I did choose to substitute natural applesause for the 1/3 cup canola oil to cut down on fat. It was great!!!! Very guilt-free. Very tasty and diet-friendly!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was wonderful, light and airy. I added lemon juice with the icing sugar to make a little more lemony. Made for guests and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
best ever lemon cake; fluffy and moist, my family's new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This isn't the prettiest cake but it makes up for it in taste! It was sooo moist and flavorful. Made exactly according to recipe. Did not need all the glaze. Raised above the pan so used the extra glaze to sample the crumbs cut from the edge. Will be serving with frest raspberries. Resturant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This tastes exactly how my brothers' grandmother used to make hers. Made some minor changes though. We included the pinch of salt, less zest (only had one lemon), a tad more lemon juice, a touch more powdered sugar and instead of Limoncello we used some leftover lemon-lime flavoured wine beverage (as per my mom's recommendation). Great to serve to guests with tea, or to complement an Italian or slightly heavy dinner as the cake is very airy and light. Easy, and I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I happened to have a bottle of Limoncello in the fridge .... Made according to recipe, using full-fat Greek yogurt. Texture was nice -- not too heavy, not too light; good lemon tartness. I put the glaze on too early (before cake had cooled much) but all this did was make for a nice crackly permimeter! Thanks, TOH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Wonderful cake, lite and airy. Nice lemony taste. Would make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States