Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
was searching for recipes using my bottle of limoncello and came across this one. not a huge sweets eater, but loved this recipe! cake was moist and not too sweet, but just enough to satisfy! (i love lemon anything) family loved it too! thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We loved this cake. Light and refreshing, easy and quick to make. We will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This cake was okay, easy to make and moist. Just disappointed that it did not have more of a lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I decided to make this cake to use up some Limoncello I had purchased at Christmas. My family really enjoyed this cake. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was a very good cake, very light and fluffy, and the perfect end to a meal! My whole family enjoyed it! I baked it in a bundt pan and it turned out BEAUTIFUL. The only comment I have is that it seemed that the limoncello liquer all settled toward the bottom of the cake after cooking, so the bottom half seemed much more "alcohol-y" (according to my sister). And I wish it had been a little bit more tart. Next time I'll add a little bit more lemon juice/zest. But not too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a tasty cake but didn't blow me away. For the extra expense of buying the liquor I doubt I would fool w/this again. Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious! A perfect ending to my Italian themed Valentines dinner. I followed the recipe exactly, but did find the cake took about 40 minutes to bake. I served with whipped cream and fresh diced strawberries. Plenty of limoncello left in the bottle for a digestive, too! Thank you for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Not as refreshing as I would have liked!! I found this cake rather bland, even though I followed the instructions exactly. I have been making a very similar cake for months (One of Nigella Lawson's recipes) and it is far more superior. I was just so disappointed with this cake, it was to be the perfect end to my Italian dinner last night. Unfortunately that was not the case, thank goodness the vanilla ice cream I made off this site, to go with it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Simple and AMAZING..my family took one bite and made yummy sounds! Best cake ever..and we are chocolate lovers but this will go toe to toe with the best of chocolate cakes. Not too lemony but just right. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Absolutely amazing. Substituted soy yogurt as a family member can't have milk products and couldn't tell the difference. Great with morning coffee or late night snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whistler, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States