Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was a flop. The cake was too dense and and had a gummy texture.I would never bake this cake again.I bake often and have never made a cake this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Pretty good -- extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
It was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this for my cousins' birthday party, and it was amazing! Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bunt pan. I baked it for about 1 hr 15 min. I let it cool for about 10 min before removing from the pan and pouring the glaze. When it cooled completely, I made it into a three-layer cake with lemon curd between the layers. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DD requested Lemon CCs with Chocolate frosting for her birthday. These ARE "lemony" and rich and moist. We especially liked the "Limoncello" drizzle because it hardens and becomes a crunchy little surprise under the frosting. Look closely at the photo; you can see a shiney little crust between the CC top and frosting. They were a huge HIT and I will most certainly be making these again. The frosting is Wedding Cake Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This way very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great recipe. the only change I made was with the glaze. I used 4 Tbsp of Limoncello. I thought it was too thick to spread on a hot cake. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this as small bundt cake muffins and was disappointed in the outcome. As others have said, there wasn't enough lemony taste for me. I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Followed the cake recipe exactly, turned out great; however, it does taste like a big pancake with a hint of lemon ... I love pancakes so it tastes good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My crumb came out kind of rubbery and over all the cake was a little dry. I will try mixing it even less next time and will double the glaze so even more can seep into the cake. I also used Bacardi Limon instead of limoncello since I didn't have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States