Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Personally, I like this cake a lot. It was very moist and not too sweet. My husband said it was bland. This was before I put on the glaze, but we did not get to taste that, since I made only one test cupcake. I used a light good quality olive oil instead of the canola oil. And I found with the given amount of powdered sugar, I needed a bit more limoncello to create the glaze. Other than that, this is an excellent refreshing cake for those without a huge sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Joe loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Nice cake with subtle lemon flavor. I used my homemade cream of limoncello, which may be slightly more mellow than regular limoncello. I brought this to a friend's house for dinner, and served it with fresh strawberries, blueberries and cool whip. Everyone enjoyed it! My only wish was that it was a little more moist. Maybe a bit of buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I must have misread something in the directions - it calls for "an 8-inch cake pan", that's what I used. Now I need to spend the next couple hours cleaning my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was a flop. The cake was too dense and and had a gummy texture.I would never bake this cake again.I bake often and have never made a cake this bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Pretty good -- extremely moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
It was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this for my cousins' birthday party, and it was amazing! Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bunt pan. I baked it for about 1 hr 15 min. I let it cool for about 10 min before removing from the pan and pouring the glaze. When it cooled completely, I made it into a three-layer cake with lemon curd between the layers. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
DD requested Lemon CCs with Chocolate frosting for her birthday. These ARE "lemony" and rich and moist. We especially liked the "Limoncello" drizzle because it hardens and becomes a crunchy little surprise under the frosting. Look closely at the photo; you can see a shiney little crust between the CC top and frosting. They were a huge HIT and I will most certainly be making these again. The frosting is Wedding Cake Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This way very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States