Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Followed recipe exactly as written, and loved the results! A nice dense, not too sweet, flavorful cake that rivals (& my daughter says, surpasses) the Limoncello cake from our favorite Italian restaurant. I used low fat Greek yogurt and a large lemon for zest and juice and baked it in a 9" single layer cake pan. The mixture was more like quick bread than cake batter consistency, but the final product was fab! Served with some whipped cream and fresh raspberries - but it would have been just as good without the additions. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used non fat Greek yogurt and it turned out so moist and yummy! I took two to a retirement party and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We were quite happy with the flavor of this cake but I did find it to be a little "heavy". I did make a few changes - used sour cream instead of yogurt and used the juice & zest of 2 lemons without measuring. Next time (and there will be a next time) I am going to add about 1 cup of blueberries to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Followed the recipe with one exception...used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice (glad I did). The cake was very good. It is a "heavy" cake. Next time I will try the "pancake" method of stirring...pour the liquid into the dry ingredients (with well in center) and combine slowly. This may make for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Moist, lemony, couldn't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I loved this cake! It was perfect for a Sunday Brunch Event in Malibu. I substituted Tessora Limoncello and it had just the right amount of lemon zest to it. I recommend Tessora for Gluten-Free lovers like myself! www.tessora-liqueur.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Personally, I like this cake a lot. It was very moist and not too sweet. My husband said it was bland. This was before I put on the glaze, but we did not get to taste that, since I made only one test cupcake. I used a light good quality olive oil instead of the canola oil. And I found with the given amount of powdered sugar, I needed a bit more limoncello to create the glaze. Other than that, this is an excellent refreshing cake for those without a huge sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Joe loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Nice cake with subtle lemon flavor. I used my homemade cream of limoncello, which may be slightly more mellow than regular limoncello. I brought this to a friend's house for dinner, and served it with fresh strawberries, blueberries and cool whip. Everyone enjoyed it! My only wish was that it was a little more moist. Maybe a bit of buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I must have misread something in the directions - it calls for "an 8-inch cake pan", that's what I used. Now I need to spend the next couple hours cleaning my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States