Refreshing Limoncello Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The cake itself turned out wonderful and moist. I would add a full tablespoon more of lemon zest. Skip the glaze...it's awful. It taste's just like powdered sugar mixed with alcohol. I Will try a Lemon curd topping the next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I just made this recipe.The cake is delicious. I made my own limoncello,so very strong. I only had 1/2 the yogurt (used greek) so I substituted some creme fraiche (I had made with fresh cream and 1 tablespoon buttermilk, and set out over night) maybe I fubbed and added a little more of the creme fraiche. Was super moist and not overly sweet. Probably great as it sits. Husband says just for adults.Thanks for the recipe. (used David Rocco's recipe for limoncello, easy) Made it in a 9 inch round cheese cake pan.oops, forgot the oil, still super soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Followed recipe exactly as written, and loved the results! A nice dense, not too sweet, flavorful cake that rivals (& my daughter says, surpasses) the Limoncello cake from our favorite Italian restaurant. I used low fat Greek yogurt and a large lemon for zest and juice and baked it in a 9" single layer cake pan. The mixture was more like quick bread than cake batter consistency, but the final product was fab! Served with some whipped cream and fresh raspberries - but it would have been just as good without the additions. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used non fat Greek yogurt and it turned out so moist and yummy! I took two to a retirement party and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We were quite happy with the flavor of this cake but I did find it to be a little "heavy". I did make a few changes - used sour cream instead of yogurt and used the juice & zest of 2 lemons without measuring. Next time (and there will be a next time) I am going to add about 1 cup of blueberries to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Followed the recipe with one exception...used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice (glad I did). The cake was very good. It is a "heavy" cake. Next time I will try the "pancake" method of stirring...pour the liquid into the dry ingredients (with well in center) and combine slowly. This may make for a lighter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Moist, lemony, couldn't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I loved this cake! It was perfect for a Sunday Brunch Event in Malibu. I substituted Tessora Limoncello and it had just the right amount of lemon zest to it. I recommend Tessora for Gluten-Free lovers like myself! www.tessora-liqueur.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Personally, I like this cake a lot. It was very moist and not too sweet. My husband said it was bland. This was before I put on the glaze, but we did not get to taste that, since I made only one test cupcake. I used a light good quality olive oil instead of the canola oil. And I found with the given amount of powdered sugar, I needed a bit more limoncello to create the glaze. Other than that, this is an excellent refreshing cake for those without a huge sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Joe loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States